Responsible

16 Feb

This morning, a new blue post debuted that highlighted some incoming changes to healers and immediately sent players into a frenzy of discussion.  Regarding priests:

The cost of Power Word: Shield is being increased by 33%. While we wanted Discipline priests to be able to utilize this spell more often and with better results, we also did not want it to be the main spell (and often the only spell) used while in groups. We don’t find this to be a particularly compelling playstyle and have found that it encourages players to avoid using other spells such as Penance. We believe that using a shield in a tight moment is totally appropriate, but we don’t want it to be incredibly efficient to do so with more frequency than that.

We realize that by making Power Word: Shield slightly more expensive for Discipline priests to cast that it might cause Holy priests to avoid using it. To that end, we are adding mana savings into the Body and Soul talent. The tooltip will not reflect this change until a future patch, however. Ideally, Holy priests should not notice much of a change to the Power Word: Shield costs.

The second paragraph was the portion that really pertained to holy priests and even then not so much.  Currently, I find myself using PW:S more for the utility of it than the absorption qualities behind it.  I use it because I do have points in Body & Soul and I have found a number of situations where the temporary burst of speed comes in handy.  I wasn’t using it often enough where I found the mana cost to be that high and I can’t say that reducing the mana cost would make me use it more.  I was fine either way.

Most of the discussion that I was witnessing seemed to revolve around the hint of new cooldowns on the horizon for resto druids and shaman and just what those things might be.  Beruthiel was quick to release a brief post about this and I’m sure many other healers will follow.

Meanwhile, I was excited to learn that Kurn had chosen myself and a very dear friend of mine in the guild to help out with guild recruitment.  This was something we had unofficially been helping out with for a while and we both had expressed interest in doing a bit more, if Kurn ever needed it and it turns out that she does.  I do have a background in recruitment, from experience with a previous guild and it’s something I really enjoying helping out with and being a part of.  I find that I’m less likely to complain about someone’s personality or performance if I have a say in them even getting into the guild.  To be clear, we are not becoming officers or anything  like that.  It’s purely voluntary, I’m under the impression we could back out at any time and we get no specific perks or benefits for doing it.

Kurn delegated certain responsibilities between the two of us and created special e-mail addresses that we can use in correspondence with potential applicants.  She and I will be required to spend a small portion of our days perusing various forums and spreading the word about our guild and what we are looking for, finding people that are looking for guilds and trying to sell them on joining us.  I would like to think that we may have a bit more weight, in terms of interviews and things of that nature.  Kurn seems pretty open to our suggestions and those of our fellow guildies, so we’ll see how far our reach can extend with this endeavor.

I have a couple of blog post ideas that I’m sitting on right now and I’m in talks with one of our guildies who does web design for a living , to see about giving this page an overhaul.  He has a lot of great ideas and I have really liked the couple of samples he has sent me, so far.  I really feel like he understands what I want and my vision for the site and could be what I’m looking for to make that happen.  Did I just say my vision?  God, that sounded pretentious.  I really didn’t mean it that way, I swear.  Hopefully I should have another entry ready to go by Friday.  I just have to decide which of the many ideas I want to flesh out and make a post about.

In closing, here is the new recruitment template that Kurn created, which we will be using on various forums near you:

Apotheosis is…

- an Alliance raiding guild (Level 16) on a PVE/EST server (Eldre’Thalas)
– focused on 25-man progression
– 9/12 (Magmaw, Omnotron, Maloriak, Chimaeron, Atramedes, Bastion of Twilight cleared)
– a 3 night a week guild, raiding on Tuesday/Thursday/Sunday
– a guild that starts invites at 8:45pm ET (server time), pulls at 9pm and goes ’till 12am
– requiring 9/12 raids per month (75%)
– using the EPGP loot system
– a guild with strong players and a fun guild atmosphere

http://www.apotheosis-now.com/main/

We are primarily seeking:

1 Balance Druid
1 Elemental Shaman

But would also consider a restoration druid and possibly a restoration shaman. Exceptional applicants of most classes will be considered, although we are full on warlocks, hunters, priests and death knights.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask:

Email: obscene@apotheosis-now.com
Twitter:  @OriginalOestrus

Or, you can get in touch with our GM, Kurn:

Email: kurn@apotheosis-now.com
Twitter: @kurnmogh

Best of luck to you in your search for a new home. I hope you’ll consider us!

Obscene
obscene@apotheosis-now.com
Headhunter, Apotheosis (A)
Eldre’Thalas (US), PVE/EST

http://www.apotheosis-now.com/main/


7 Responses to “Responsible”

  1. Windsoar February 16, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    To be all nitpicky, you have Kurn @kurnmough, but not yourself @originaloestrus.

    I can’t say I share your enthusiasm for recruiting, but I wish you luck!

    • Oestrus February 16, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

      Ack, you were right! Let me fix that.

      Good eye! Thank you.
      :)

  2. Kurn February 16, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Definitely voluntary, which is a main difference between you doing it without being an officer. Otherwise, it’s indentured servitude and your services are mine for LIFE!! ;)

    With regards to having a say, I already rely on the input of others when recruiting so not much will change in that regard since you already do get to sit in on all the interviews. :)

    • Oestrus February 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      You already have my Val’anyr. What more can I give?!
      :P

  3. Dahrla February 16, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    “Kurn seems pretty open to our suggestions and those of our fellow guildies, so we’ll see how far our reach can extend with this endeavor.”

    Psh, how far our reach can extend? My personal goal is to take over Apotheosis, hahahahahahahahahahaha!!

    • Oestrus February 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Whoops, I probably shouldn’t have unapproved that comment. Now Kurn will be on to us.

      Eh, she’s Canadian. Like she’ll catch on!
      :P

      • Kurn February 16, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

        WTS guild, cheap! PST! ;D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

