From The Ground Up

28 Jun

“Why am I doing this?”  That’s a really good question, actually.

I’ve been blogging for as long as I can remember.  I have about five years of my personal life tied up in a Livejournal, somewhere.  I have a year of sporadic gaming posts hosted on a healing blog that I briefly shared with Lilitharien, of WoW blogosphere fame.  Lilith was kind enough to take me on board and gave me a voice and a spot on her page.  She defended me to naysayers and encouraged me to join her guild and to experience some wonderful things with her.  Some big developments happened in her personal life, which I am extremely excited about and I am very proud of her for.  She is a star in her own right and I just felt it was time to branch out on my own (no pun intended) and to see if I have what it takes to hang with the likes of other WoW-based blogs that I enjoy and respect immensely.

I have always been the girl who says what others can’t or what others won’t.  I have searched desperately for druid specific healing strategies on difficult encounters and didn’t have a lot of luck.  I disagreed with gearing suggestions and discussions on gemming and set bonuses.  I look at the upcoming Cataclsym changes with worry and hope, that Blizzard will not take a class I have loved and fought for, for the last three years and turn them into something that I can’t ever see myself being proud to play anymore.  I like to have fun and talk a little trash and I take pride in being a refreshing and sometimes indignant voice in this crazy WoW universe that we all know and love.

I plan on covering a number of things.  I have some very bold opinions that I hope some people can relate to and hopefully, I can help a few folks realize that there is no one right way to be a resto druid.  This blog will cover everything from healing rotations to how I spent the last three years playing in the haze of a bad video card to my extreme dislike for Blood Elf death knights.  It will be fun, it will be informative and hopefully I can find a few friends along the way who don’t mind tagging along for the ride.

Currently, I am part of a 10 man group that runs hard modes and so far is 9/12 in ICC heroics.  I spent most of my WoW career in 25 man raids, with some light ventures into PVP and a brief stint on an RP server.  I think like most people, who have been raiding since Vanilla or even BC, I was ready for something different, a bit more personal and a lot less stressful.  I took three months off from the game, attempted to re-roll as an elemental shaman and realized healing was my niche and anything else just didn’t compare to my druid.  Some old friends on my original server needed some bodies to help rebuild after a minor schism and now I’m a recruitment assistant for the guild, who helps find able bodies to fuel our other 10 mans and our 25 man run.

In closing, please feel free to stop by and say hello.  I will say in advance that I am a firm believer in screening comments, so please don’t take offense if you notice your comment does not automatically post.  I have seen how vicious some forum trolls can be and I myself am no stranger to hate mail or disgruntled PuG members or things like that.  It doesn’t take much for someone like that to derail a perfectly good conversation or to drag others into the crossfire of something nasty and downright mean.

Thank you for stopping by and have a good one!

2 Responses to “From The Ground Up”

  1. Modeus July 1, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Blood Elf deathknights are awesome. It’s a fact. There’s no such thing as too much twirling.

    • Oestrus July 1, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

      I liked you better as an Orc. I had more to hold onto. 🙂

Leave a Reply

