Alive & Kicking

8 Nov

This is my welcome back phone post, of sorts and it covers about a half hour or so of my thoughts, feelings and opinions on current events.  I leave no stone unturned!  I talk about some old favorites (i.e. Kurn and Self-Righteous Orbs) and some new discussion topics as well (i.e.  Avalonna and Frostheim).   

It feels great to be back and please continue to stop by and chime in on the conversation or come check out my more priestly themed posts, over at Divine Aegis.

🙂 

7 Responses to “Alive & Kicking”

  1. Kurn November 8, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Yep, Frostheim is the hunter columnist on WoWInsider:

    http://wow.joystiq.com/bloggers/brian-wood/

    Sigh.

    • Oestrus November 8, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

      Was he your competition for the paladin column, too?

      😛

      • Kurn November 8, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

        Har, har.

        He’s also… questionable in his quality. So I’m told.

        Thanks for all the awesome stuff you said about me and the guild, btw! I don’t think it’s really all that new and exciting to want to have a progressed guild consisting of people who aren’t asshats, but hey. I’m glad you like the vision. 🙂

        And, of course, we’re so pleased to have you!

        (Daey and I are ever-so-grateful that we may never have to run Ulduar ever again.)

  2. Lilitharien November 12, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    Ah, Amber. She has no filter, somewhat like you. 😛

    I think she’s still linked in our Blogroll on Divine Aegis.

    • Oestrus November 13, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      I dig her, so far – so maybe we’re guilty of the same victimless crimes. 🙂

      And yes, I believe she still is on our blogroll. I hope.

  3. AliPally November 14, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    Raiding progressively should still be fun, and a happy social experience, not merely a pursuit of epeen and titles.
    I wonder how many women are in World-First guilds, and whether they have the same ‘only the end result matters’ view that a lot of men seem to have.
    To me, the company is so important in any achievement I attain. It sounds like you guys share that view, too. It’s a nice thought.

    • Oestrus November 14, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      The interesting thing about some world first guilds and even guilds that are very progressed, but not at that level yet is they openly don’t recruit women or openly tend to lean towards not recruiting them. The reasons are varied, but it is something that has come up in recent years.

      I will say that in my experience, I used to feel the same way – but that was only because I was not seeing any examples of people really having it any other way. When I would see the guild that appeared to have a really casual social structure and was openly having fun, they weren’t progressing or not at the level I was used to. The only examples that I was around of guilds that were doing that well were the ones that were uber serious and throwing a lot more brazen words around and things like that. I didn’t know that you could have it any other way. I jumped around a lot, guild wise, in this expansion, trying to find that ideal and I didn’t. So after all that searching, I just resigned myself to this is how it has to be. I’ll be in a guild where I don’t particularly care for some of them, they probably don’t care for me back (not care as in lovey dovey, but you get the drift) and we are just here to progress and get things done.

      It wasn’t until I started blogging more seriously and seeing what others had that I realized you can have both and that’s why I made the decision to sign up with Kurn and give her guild and guildies a try. We seem to be doing well so far and I’m excited to see if we can take that initiative into Cata.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

