A Day Of Rest

22 Nov

Three days of no sunshine and rain has caused me to be very tired.  I’m feeling overworked, though certainly not underpaid and I’m having one of those days where you are so tired that you get home, throw your bag or keys down and just crawl right into bed.  You don’t change clothes, you don’t take your contacts out – just straight to bed.  That sounds absolutely lovely right now.

Speaking of resting, there was news released today that we will be starting Cataclysm without any kind of rested experience.  From my experience in the Beta, I can say that having all of that rested experience really made the process go by much faster.  However, having a full level and a half (and some people reported more) made those first two levels fly by fast.  Perhaps too fast. 

I was able to go from 80 to 81 in about five hours – that’s straight questing, no instances and no real breaks.  81-82 took me about seven or eight hours.  I ran out of rested three quarters of the way into 81.  I can only imagine how much that will slow down, without any rested experience to help me out along the way.  Maybe I need to take more than just two days off for the release of Cataclysm. 

Other updates today included the news that you can roll one of the new class/race combos from scratch on patch day, but you cannot faction change anything that you already have created until Cataclysm is released.  For example, you could make a level 1 Blood Elf warrior, but you could not turn your level 67 Undead priest into a Tauren.  I’m excited to be turning Oestrus into a Worgen, so I can bring her into my current guild and they can enjoy having the achievement for Oestrus having her Val’anyr.  I can’t think of any other toons that I have that I am eager to race/faction change, though. 

One thing that I really enjoy about being a blogger is running into other bloggers who I look up to quite a bit and more importantly, who are just as approachable and real as I had hoped they would be.  Case in point, Dawn Moore.  For those who don’t know, Dawn Moore is one of the priest columnists over at WoWInsider and is apparently a fan of Divine Aegis.  She began commenting a few weeks ago, on one of Lilitharien’s posts and she began commenting on my recent post.  I can’t even begin to tell you how much I squealed when I realized it was her. 

Dawn Moore is posting on my (our) blog.  How cool is that?!  I think whether people acknowledge it or not, there is some form of a hierarchy in the blogosphere and it is always really amazing when people who are considered to be “at the top” take the time to recognize those of who may not be or who are up and coming and give us a little encouragement and support.  It feels good just to know they know we exist.  I don’t mean to sound like I’m making myself out to be such a peon and maybe I’m just not explaining it well enough.  It’s a very good feeling and I think anyone who has felt the same knows what I’m talking about. 

Along the same lines, one of our guildies has recently found herself a niche for writing about add-ons or mods that others may find intimidating or complicated and breaking them down into really digestible blog entries.  Her latest endeavor was a well thought out post on Decursive, which ended up getting noticed by Curse and the creators of Decursive and landed her a plug on their website.  She was so excited about it and we as her guild were excited, too.  Again, some may not have seen the big deal, but we did.  Anyone who has ever felt that giddiness would understand it completely.  I hope she continues to expand on what she is doing and I have certainly given her no shortage of ideas for future posts. 

Word just broke that Beta testing is officially over.  More about that later.

2 Responses to “A Day Of Rest”

  1. antlergirl November 23, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    I think they changed that ‘not being able to race change immediatly’ already. I’m happy they did. It does seem a bit unfair that you’re perfectly fine to roll a new nelf mage, but not change your old gnome mage into a nelf at the same time.

    • Oestrus November 23, 2010 at 7:11 am #

      Yeah, it happened hours after I did this, so I felt kind of bad. I want to make my druid a Worgen, so those changes don’t affect me, yet. But I’m happy others can take advantage of it!

Leave a Reply

