Weak

16 Dec

I’m sick.  I can’t guarantee that both of my nostrils will be working at the same time.  I feel as if my body has been run over by a steamroller.  It hurts when I swallow.  I have been blowing my nose so much that it’s starting to turn pink and I can’t keep this rogue piece of hair in a clip on the side of my head, so it keeps sticking out in a random fly away fashion.

What better time to decide that I want to do my first Heroic 5 man instance

I did everything right leading up to the event.  I created a thread on the guild forums, asking if anyone would like to come with me, since I would rather my first time be with as many guildies as possible.  The replies were few, but there was enough there to form an all guild run.  When I came home from work, I picked up buff food from the AH, made some potions and made sure I was stocked up on drinks.  I picked up a few enchants for the blue pieces I knew I would not be replacing any time soon and I considered myself good to go.

Our tank logged on and we decided to do a random Heroic first, for the Valor points and such.  As luck would have it our first Heroic ended up being the Stonecore.  Word on the street is that the Stonecore is the nastiest of the Heroics and I began to receive a number of condolences on Twitter, when I stated that was where I was going.  The trash mobs were fine and the healing wasn’t too difficult.  Then we reached the first boss.

Our group consisted of a prot paladin, a shadow priest, a hunter, a feral druid and myself.  Not exactly a lot of AOE capabilities there.  As luck would have it, this boss not only summons more of the bugs between phases, but his crystal shards spawn shardlings that need to be dealt with, too.  When they explode, they cause massive damage to any players standing in the explosion area.  Things were not going very well.  I suggested possibly having one person dedicated to the critters and nobody seemed to approve of that idea.  Some of us were caught in the burrow path and died instantly, myself included.

For whatever reason, it just wasn’t coming together.  After a few more wipes, we decided to try our hand at another random and soon realized that putting ourselves back in the queue would take us right back to Stonecore.  Someone brought up the idea of Grim Batol and so we tried our luck there.  The minute we walk in the door, the feral drops group.  A few moments later, he logs offline.  He comes back a short time later, offering no replacement and tells the tank that I was the reason he left.  

Apparently, I have ruffled some feathers in my time with the new guild, because there is a slowly increasing number of people who refuse to run with me.  I really don’t understand people who do that.  I can honestly say that I have never not helped someone or not ran with them because of personal differences.  I can seperate how I feel about someone personally and how I feel about them professionally.  More importantly, if something did come up and I needed to drop group, I would at least make sure that I announce I’m leaving and offer a sturdy replacement.  I don’t just bail.  More on that later.

So, the feral leaving already called into question my ability to do this.  Did he leave because he didn’t like me or did he leave because he thinks I can’t heal and can’t handle this?  He didn’t say or the tank didn’t tell me.  We ended up having to PuG a DPS, because everyone else in the guild was already spoken for and it was clear that the rogue we took in had little understanding of the place.  The first boss ended in more wipes and I was starting to lose interest fast.  We had been at this for two hours and had no boss kills under our belts

I was exhausted and downtrodden, so I asked one of our resto shaman to take my place and she was glad to help.  I apologized profusely and explained I had to go.  After I logged, I really wanted to cry.  I always see bloggers talk about getting emotional over various things in the game and I never thought I would be one of them, but I was.  I felt like a failure.  I was frustrated.  I felt inadequate.  I couldn’t believe that someone would be catty enough to drop group because they don’t like me.  I was feeling all of that.

I have 19 days to be raid ready and I don’t think I’m going to make it.  I see people who I know that I’m as good as or better than breezing through Heroics and having a laugh about how much fun they are and all the great achievements and loot that they’re getting from them and here I am really struggling with it.  It makes me angry.  If they can do it – why can’t I?  I don’t suck.  I am not a bad player.  I should be able to keep up.

Which brings me to my next concern.  How do you know where the problem lies?  I’m going on and on about how I was the loser here and I was the weakest link, but how do I know that?  Maybe our tank was not geared enough or maybe I was pouring too much mana into sloppy DPS.  How do I know that it was my fault

I’m not really sure where to go from here.  A friend suggested I take a breather and go get more gear.  From where?  I’m already farming the regular 85 instances and things are not dropping.  I could perhaps buy some crafted PVP pieces, as they could be seen as upgrades for some things I’m wearing right now.  One or two factions have something I could use at Exalted.  That’s right – exalted.  Like I’m going to reach that point before January 4th.  

The only other thing I can think of is to maybe go discipline until my gear is better able to support being holy full time.  I remember it was like this in Wrath.  Nobody leveled as holy or farmed the initial dungeons as such, at least that I can recall.  Discipline was always the way to go.  I haven’t played discipline in ages, but it’s not like I have a shortage of great resources that I can learn from. 

I planned on these runs being a challenge, but I think Blizzard really went overboard here.  Getting into a fight with a 6 foot 5 biker in a dive bar is considered a challenge.  Getting into a fight with the entire biker bar is overkill.  You can still create a challenge for people without going so far as to clearly be trying to prove a point or make an example of people.  We get it.  They want us to learn and they want us to forget what Wrath taught us.  I just don’t feel amping up the difficulty factor this high is the way to go. 

I’m exhausted and could go on for days, but I should get back to work and attempt to trudge through my work day.  I slept for crap and I feel terrible, in every sense of the word.  I just want to get through this.

26 Responses to “Weak”

  1. Beruthiel December 16, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Stonecore really is a beast of an instance – and is the only instance where ALL FOUR bosses have an ability to one shot anyone in the group if they make an error. It’s very unforgiving. And honestly, I feel, a tad overtuned.

    A lot of the new instances require a lot of coordination, and a lot of people paying attention. Honestly, after each wipe ask “how did that person die” – if the answer is “they didn’t move from the giant worm” or “they didn’t move out of the shards” or “dps didn’t kill the damn adds” then that really isn’t something that you’ll be able to solve or heal through, and it shouldn’t be expected that you are.

    If the answer is more “I mis-timed that heal” or “I should have used heal x instead of heal y” then there is something more to look at in terms of if *you* are doing something wrong.

    And, truth be told, the instances take some learning. The first time we went to Grim Batol in heroic we probably spent an hour (or more) on the first boss trying to work out the best way to deal with it. However, the next time we went, we were able to communicate our strategy to a new group of people and the instace got easier.

    So…I guess the point that I’m trying to get to in this ramble, is that sometimes you’ve just got to stick it out, and it’s not always going to be easy. However, you will learn an awful lot about how to heal in the “learning” process than anywhere else 🙂

    • Oestrus December 16, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      I can certainly relate to the idea of thinking “I should have used X heal instead of Y.” I’ll admit that I’m still learning just how much to heal someone who isn’t the tank, without pouring too much mana into them. My tank seemed to be doing fine – he was never in danger of going down. Everyone else, on the other hand, was just dropping very fast. There were some moments where I stood in things, too and I admit that.

      I guess I just didn’t want to take the obvious role of blaming other people. It’s far too easy to do that in this game and I don’t know what they’re going thru, as a healer to say that something could be their fault. I immediately put the lens on myself and started to over examine what I was doing.

      Thanks for putting things in perspective, Beru.

      🙂

  2. Ophelie December 16, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Hang in there! It WILL get better!

    The heroics have a learning curve and gear isn’t the only factor that comes into play. When people say they’re breezing through heroics, they’re speaking relatively. I’ve been pugging heroics and for the most part it’s been “going well”.

    “Going well” means we killed the last boss, only went through 6 tanks before we found a good one and got in the instance done before the 4 hour mark. You should see what my groups that don’t “go well” are like!

    The way I’ve found to cope is to approach heroics the way I would raiding: focusing on the pleasure of teamwork and learning. For the time being, heroics aren’t a fast track to gear anymore. We have to work at them until we get them on farm. In the meanwhile, I’ve met some fantastic people (including the SEXIEST tank of them all) and I’m sad that none of them are from my server.

    That said, you didn’t pick the two best heroics to start with! Go Throne of the Tides, it’s a group tester, but with a good leader and a decent tank, it’s the easier heroic I’ve done so far.

    • Oestrus December 16, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      So why didn’t you say something sooner, you goof?!

      I was hearing you say things are going well and taking it to mean literally and I’m thinking “Ophelie’s doing fine and others are doing fine, so maybe it is me.” Come to find out that I didn’t know what your definition of “going well” meant. Now I see that all of your runs maybe weren’t going that swell.

      Thank you for suggesting an easier Heroic to start out with. I think I’ll suggest that one next time, provided I can get a guild run together to go with me. Do you recommend doing the randoms and throwing yourself out there like that or doing select ones until you’re ready for something bigger?

      • Ophelie December 16, 2010 at 10:42 am #

        It’s the mindset, I think. Since I’ve been pugging, I go into each heroic expecting it to be awful. Each time I’m pleasantly surprised.

        On a wipe, you can usually tell whether the situation can be fixed or whether it’s a lost cause. Most of the time, I get “can be fixed” so I stick with it until we get it. The feeling of satisfaction I get when killing a boss after an hour of wiping with a group of adorable morons is worth so much more than any loot.

        Even when I run with guildies, there have been a few bosses that gave us grief (that fire pillar boss in BRC was BRUTAL until our tanks learned the rhythm and positioning of the fight). But I took it as prime time to make lots of dirty jokes, talk about our respective blogs/podcasts and gossip about other guildies. It’s not just about loot anymore, it’s about spending quality time with friends.

        • Oestrus December 16, 2010 at 10:49 am #

          You cannot make me laugh like that when I’m sick. I nearly coughed up a lung on this one – lol

      • Ophelie December 16, 2010 at 10:46 am #

        Oh and I totally didn’t answer your question.

        “They” say Vortex Pinnacle is the easiest and Grim Batol is the hardest. But I’ve just been throwing myself out there. I like surprises: I’m not afraid of morons and I’m not afraid of wiping. In the end, I rarely get anything other than Blackrock Caverns (very coordination based, so takes awhile to learn, but easy once everyone gets it down) and Throne of the Tides (easy with good CC and a disciplined group).

        But if you want to work your way up, go Throne of the Tides or Vortex Pinnacle, IMO.

  3. Dahrla December 16, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    All I can say is that you shouldn’t be pointing fingers, neither at yourself nor at any of us – these heroics are hard for our gear levels and experience levels, period. It’s going to take more than a few wipes – after you left last night, it still took us a good three hours to clear the place. It wasn’t your fault, in other words.

    Not all of us were in the beta, so we don’t know the fights by heart – cut us “sloppy dps” a little slack. I know I got gibbed by the charge mechanic that first time on the Grim Batol boss. I know pressing Fade on cooldown on the first Stonecore boss did not prevent me from getting hit by the stupid rock adds anyway. I know that my aoe dps sucks monkey balls, and I know that my mana bar cannot support me frantically trying to dot the outliers up. But it’ll all get better, trust me. I’m not one of those assholes who say, “geez, Wrath heroics were SOOOOOOO EASY, even in the beginning!” I remember wiping forever and ever on the elemental boss in H. Nexus. I remember cursing the game and everyone in it while trying to heal my way through the trash in H. Old Kingdom. It got better, though, as people geared up and learned the fights. I did eventually get to the point where I was comfortable healing through Old Kingdom. But not at first, for sure. Just saying, though – you’ll look back at this in a few months and feel relief at how much easier they’ve gotten.

    And I apologize for suggesting Grim Batol in the first place – I had the most pleasant (not that it WAS pleasant, mind you) experience in there as opposed to the other heroics. Then again, that could have just been that particular pug group versus other pugs. From what I remembered, though, a lot of the damage was avoidable, as opposed to other heroics, where damage was not. I suggested it because I thought we could avoid some of it and make things a little bit less stressful for you. I have been known to have a spotty memory due to my advancing age, though, so again, I apologize for that.

    “Apparently, I have ruffled some feathers in my time with the new guild, because there is a slowly increasing number of people who refuse to run with me.”

    Dude, seriously. Who are these people? I will fuck them up.

    • Oestrus December 16, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      I certainly didn’t imply that you were “sloppy DPS.” I was just classifying different parts of the group that one could see as being at fault, when a group is consistently wiping on certain things. Believe me, if I felt you or anyone else were having issues, I would say something. I’m not opposed to naming names, you know that. Same goes for those that seem to have an issue with running with me – lol

      Most of the issues that I was experiencing last night were all mine. On any other day, that would have been a top notch 5 man. I think the feral leaving the group really started the chain reaction and I kind of went into a tail spin after that. It’s hard to foster a sense of cooperation and teamwork, when one person outright bails and for a crummy reason as not liking you. That kind of set the tone for how things would go. I think if we would have had the same group for the entire night, we could have certainly done it.

      Three hours for one Heroic? That’s insane! I’ll have to clear out some of my weekend to get some more of those in, apparently!

      • Dahrla December 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

        Yea, three hours – the night before that, it took me five hours (in 1.5 heroics) to get my Valor points. And of course, last night, I didn’t get any. All these people who are running in the same guild groups with the same people and running heroics so fast they can chain them? … I’m not pleased.

        And seriously, I do think it’s an issue when people refuse to do anything with you. I do know it’s a 25 man raiding guild and the only thing they are required to do with you is the 25 man raids, but really – it certainly doesn’t foster any sense of team comraderie. I do not anticipate this being good for the guild at all – I wanted to be in a close, fun, progressive guild that can work together, not a guild where there are clashes and petty feelings about other guildies.

        Raiding will NOT be fun if you don’t like the people you are raiding with. I can both speak from experience as well as from reading over 100 WoW blogs (detailing experiences in their own guilds) on my blogroll over the past few years.

        Anyway, yes, clear your schedule this weekend – we’re going to pick our way through some heroics if it takes us hours and hours per run! And we’ll start with Throne of Tides and Vortex Pinnacle. 😀 Can’t learn them unless you practice, right?

        And I hope you feel better, incidently – playing WoW sucks when you are sick. 😦

        • Oestrus December 16, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

          My weekend is sorta busy, but sorta not. I’m definitely free Friday evening, after work. I do work Saturday morning from 8-12 and then have lunch plans and then I’m free Saturday night. I’m going to see “Black Swan” on Sunday afternoon and then I’m free Sunday evening. So evenings this weekend sound great and definitely count me in.

          It’s never really come down to clashes or open battles, but there is definitely an undercurrent of people only working with certain other people. For example, there were some not so subtle jabs in the Bottlenecking post on the boards and just the general apathy when I look to do a run. The only thing I can say about that is if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. I’ll just bear that in mind when certain people are wondering why their queues are taking so long and they have nobody to help them out with that. I’ll run with who I know wants to run with me and let that be that. It’s not worth blowing up about or making a big fuss over.

          I just really hope I’m ready by January 4th. I would like to think I could get a lot done in 19 days. I think I’ll spend tonight farming a few regular runs. The fact that I have green robes and bracers (even as strong as they are) kind of bugs me. And I want to see how the new hotfixes to priest mana regen effect me. They’re suppposed to make a huge difference.

      • Apple December 16, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

        Yeah, I was taken aback by a certain other priest’s reaction to your post, especially. :/ I hope it’s just tensions running high for various reasons due to the season and the expansion, but I’ve been through enough (non-WoW related) drama to know that’s probably not going to pan out. /sigh

        • Oestrus December 16, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

          Honestly, that’s the least of my worries. I’m fine with adversity. My main concern is the difficulty of the runs and my ability to keep up with them and be ready in time for January 4th. I’m not here to win hearts and minds. I can only really better myself and that’s why I’m here. I’m here to raid. On the nights that I’m not raiding, I don’t plan on being too much, if I can help it. That’s how I play. I play to raid and when raids aren’t happening, I have other things that I could be doing.

          I do believe that tensions are high across the board, just from the sheer competitive nature of it all and I don’t think it will always be this way.

          I do appreciate the love and the offer to come LOLRet in Heroics with me. It’s like I said to Dahrla, I know that others are feeling left out, too and they have come to me after I made the Bottlenecking post and said “Thanks for saying something.” If people are comfortable in their groups and doing their thing, let’s make our own groups and do our thing. There’s enough loot to go around, I think. I think doing something about it is much more proactive and positive than causing scenes about it and making a fuss.

  4. Apple December 16, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    While I seriously doubt my ability to put out any sort of good DPS or pick good gear, I DO have a fail!Ret spec on Lis now, as well as some basic gear. Once I hit 85 and am moderately geared, I am not at all opposed to coming with you and DPSing. I can’t promise I won’t be hurting more than I’m helping, but there it is. 🙂 and you know I’m always more than happy to heal your fine, fine arse.

    I’m still livid over the way the druid handled things last night, and I’m absolutely BAFFLED that he and others are refusing to run with you. You’re definitely a strong personality, and quite blunt when you have an issue or see something going wrong (I have to admit to a moment of irritation when you wondered in vent why we were “just finding out now” about my issues with Halion after that third or fourth wipe, but you had a point – I SHOULD have made it clearer that I was just not able to handle it down there, a lot earlier), but you are, on the whole, a good person, in my opinion.

    Anyway, I hope you feel better soon, and please know that I have absolutely ALWAYS got your back if you need me. ❤ You're one of my favourite people in the guild, and I love playing with you.

  5. AliPally December 18, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    Don’t lose sight of the fact that most people’s gear is not very good at the moment. We want things to be hard when we have bad gear, don’t we? Who wants Wrath facerolls for the next 12 months?

    Some dpsers might not have noticed the differences between Wrath and Cata, but all tanks and healers sure have. Things are tougher in some respects, but in others they are easier. It’s less about spamming heals, and more about thinking. That is good.

    To be honest, I don’t think these instances are as hard as BC Heroics when they first came out. Durnhold Keep heroic? Shattered Halls heroic? Shadow Labs? Murderous. Yet we got through them, and back then we had the added pressure of needing those attunements for the raids, too.

    Don’t despair, think of it as raiding with 5 people. Fun!

  6. Miles December 20, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Not to be rude, but I do want to play the Devil’s Advocate here—these heroics are really not that hard. You need five average players in 333s and 346s to complete them with no difficulty. What makes them “hard” is that carrying one or two people in ANY role will make you fail. That said, I have been running heroics with either a Discipline Priest or a Holy Paladin as my healer (even before the priest buffs) and had no real difficulties—except for one bad Corborus night just before the massive priest buff hit.

    It could be you that’s the problem. It is also more likely your DPS being cavalier, and even your tanks—Wrath tanks are not accustomed to moving out of things. However, short of suicidal DPS, careful playing should be able to help you through it.

    If you do go disc, I’ve heard it’s cake—Heal (or Gheal) if one person is hurt; binding heal if you and one person are hurt, and PoHeal if 3+ people are hurt. PoHealing is very strong now.

    • Oestrus December 20, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

      Hey there, Miles!

      A lot changed since that post went up. Things have gotten MUCH better and I honestly think there were a number of factors in play that prevented that first run from going off without a hitch. I picked up a number of upgrades, since then and I gained a lot of confidence that I didn’t feel I had when I first walked in there. I admit it, I probably wasn’t mentally ready for it yet. I had no idea that one or two pieces that could be considered minor upgrades would make such a huge difference, but they did.

      I have had no need to go discipline and feel completely confident in my abilities as a holy priest to do these and do them often. In fact, Lightwell has saved our asses numerous times. I don’t regret the decision to stay holy at all.

      I do still want to say that some fights are still a bit too overtuned. For example, my group spent one full hour last night working on Ripsnarl. That fight is nasty. I still feel that there is a difference between challenging, for the sake of being challenging and then challenging for the sake of being excessive or for the sake of proving a point. I think this fight could be one of those.

      Overall, things have improved and I appreciate the support. 🙂

      • syl December 21, 2010 at 3:09 am #

        I felt things got a ton better myself as soon as I dinged 85 and got a few decent trinkets and replaced most blues. I’m hanging in there with holy: runs do take longer and yes we wipe, but it’s absolutely doable with a good group of people that coordinate. I’ve been to most heroics now and ever since I replaced Heal for my main spell and used heal-chakra consequently, I’ve been doing pretty well for most pulls. bosses are still hard of course and am using every bit of help I have via CDs and buffs – so does everyone else and they really need to. it feels great though and i’m having a lot of fun, even if we barely make it sometimes. 😉

        started to stack spi and haste for now, it DOES take a lot of haste doesn’t it?
        it’s all about tactics at the moment and the entire team clicking – don’t ever think it’s just about you as a healer. you were probably also a bit unlucky with your first heroic, Stonecore has some nasty MT damage and trash. I do enjoy DM immensely and ToT isn’t bad either to start off with I’d say. just hang in there, is the key! ^^

        • Oestrus December 21, 2010 at 4:56 am #

          Holy is actually incredibly strong. Now that I have the flow of it down pat and such, I don’t feel our fights take longer than most. I don’t feel I drink more than other healers. I don’t feel I can’t do anything that any other healer can do, mostly. It’s a good feeling. I was surprised how much each upgrade, no matter how small made a HUGE difference. Even a cheap enchant or a spellthread worked wonders, too. That made the motivation to tidy up my character much more important.

          I’m also really glad to have Lightwell and have stated repeatedly that it has saved our asses a number of times. I’m even starting to prefer dropping it before the actual pull, a few seconds before the tank actually pulls, so I can possibly even get 2 off during a fight. Believe me, they get used and they help a LOT.

          It’s nice to finally see all of my talents get use and know why I put points in them. Up until I started doing Heroics, I wasn’t so sure about a number of things. Now I am. If I could just find the motivation to finish my holy talent analysis I could explain!

  7. V January 14, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Long time no write. School’s hitting me hard again this semester, so I decided to drop raiding until I have a reasonable amount of time to commit to it, but it’s good to see that you’re still on top of things.

    My Warrior (one a blood elf of course) and my Druid are fighting for my main spot at the moment (yes, I finally picked the warrior up again, this time as DPS and I’m considerably happier with that role at the moment), but I think Væ is going to see heroic content before he does (she already has the item level for it, but not nearly the throughput at this point).

    Anyway, I wanted to post also because I’d had some of the same issues. The change of healing mentality between Wrath and Cataclysm has been a shock to me, too, and I eventually grew to ignore the DPS fussing about their health bars not being topped off and switched focus from shooting health rainbows out of my eyeballs to just keeping the group alive. I went from being berated to receiving complements on my heals over the course of that quick attitude and strategy change.

    The Druid’s actually been a lot of fun now that I’ve gotten used to her again and I hope you’ll pull Oestrus off the shelf eventually; you’re still my resto hero. :B

    I’m going to start Tree Dance again (hopefully) now that the expansion’s stable.

    • Oestrus January 21, 2011 at 9:32 am #

      Wow, there’s a name I haven’t seen in a while!

      Sorry it took me so long to unscreen the comment. I had a busy week at work and I admit I don’t get back to this blog as often as I would like, since I have been putting more time into Divine Aegis and World of Matticus. Just not enough time to go around!

      I’m glad to hear that you’re doing well and you’re surviving everything that life and the game are throwing at you. I actually just got Oestrus to 85 yesterday and it’s definitely different than healing on a priest. She’s not Heroic ready yet, but I’m working on that. Specifically, healing Lost City sucks as a druid. Not being able to cleanse those diseases makes me have to heal more to compensate and I’m OOM so fast.

      The priest is doing well, my guild is 6/12 on 25 man content and we’re working on Atramedes on Sunday. It’s going well and I’m learning a lot and it’s a great crew, for being Alliance. Are you still in CfC? On Zangar? What’s the scoop?

      🙂

      • V January 22, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

        Wow – that’s amazing about the raiding. I can’t imagine progressing that fast (then again, I’ve sunken to casual playing of course).

        I’m around 339 average item level on my Druid now. Haven’t had the stones to begin healing heroics yet, but I’m working my way there; I just scored some glorious replacements last night in a heroic run (as DPS) between justice points, gold, and a fortunate drop that noone else needed. My biggest shames are Tear of Blood (316 trinket) and Captured Lightning (316 relic), so I’d say I’m plugging along.

        I’m not with CfC anymore with Væ, but she’s still on Zangarmarsh; I wanted to try casual play for a while and went back to an old guild. L told me that they’re probably open to having another healer in CfC, though, so I’m considering giving it another shot once I have a more solid healing set.

        • Oestrus January 27, 2011 at 10:22 am #

          It could be argued about how fast we’re actually progressing. It seems like a LOT of guilds are going the 10 man route and because they take less time and energy to organize, they are able to kill things faster and to kill more things, period. Don’t get me wrong – we’re certainly doing well. But we definitely are a minority these days.

          Druid heaing is not bad in Heroics, as long as the basic tenets are followed (i.e. don’t stand in shit, make sure the tank is geared enough to actually be there) and make sure people use CC and that you’re not afraid to ask for breaks to drink. It also helps to take as many people as you know into the Heroic with you, so you can try to lead the group, in case the people in the random are terribad. That’s what I call “forming a filibuster.”

          I’ve heard CfC is doing well with their 10 mans, but I also see they’re trying to form too many groups. I would be careful and make sure whatever group you join is solid and not full of fickle people who won’t pull their weight. It’s a lot harder to hide mistakes in a 10 man, so everyone there needs to be someone you can really count on.

          • V February 4, 2011 at 9:15 am #

            Sorry it’s taken so long for me to respond!

            10-mans aren’t as forgiving and I’m actually glad for that; I think it’s a good balance for how much easier it is to assemble 10 players than 25.

            I’m actually confident in heroics now finally (I’m up to 345 ilvl, but a stupid trinket’s holding that back); only thing I haven’t finished is SC, but only because I haven’t gotten it as a random since my gear’s been sufficient.

            I actually ran SFK with Apple, Logan (who’s actually playing again), Warashes, and a hunter whose name I can’t remember. Despite a couple minor wipes, it went really well. I finally got my first rep epics. I still plan on my fury warrior being my main, but the healer’s way easier to gear initially of course.

            I think I mentioned having a priestess before. She’s 49 now and I’m enjoying the hell out of her, except that these vanilla dungeons are so depressingly easy now that I don’t feel like I’m actually getting a feel for healing. I’m discipline at the moment and experimenting with the Evangelism/Smite/Atonement-style healing, which is kind of a snore at this point, but probably has more applications in PvP.

            And yeah, most of the people in my groups’ve been guild mates lately (from ) since we’re all finally geared enough for it; it does tend to work better that way.

          • Oestrus February 4, 2011 at 10:18 am #

            That’s OK! I have been just as busy, so I can relate.

            I have a lot of respect for 10 mans. I did them a lot when I was in CfC and I definitely had to heal differently, gear differently. We felt people’s absences more than we did in 25 mans. They definitely earn their keep, that’s for sure. I enjoy the more epic feel of the 25 mans, though.

            I’m glad to hear your confidence went up in Heroics and I have to say that’s a huge hurdle to overcome, in terms of doing those. You really have to trust that you’re ready for them and confident you can handle it and just having a 329 iLevel isn’t enough to give you that. I know when I got Oestrus to 85, I was 329 quite fast. But I knew I wasn’t ready and I farmed the hell out of some Lost City and HoO until I was sure that I was. You know yourself better than anyone else does.

            Oh, Apple. What toon is she on now? I do love me some Maurice (Warashes), too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Welcome to the Deadmines (& the Stonecore) : Kurn's Corner - December 17, 2010

    […] later on, Fog and O (who was feeling similarly awful about healing) were looking for more DPS for a random heroic. They had Piggly and Mabriam, a mage, and I was […]

Leave a Reply

