Demand

22 Mar

In the last 30 days, I went from being one of the people in my guild who was responsible for looking for new talent in search of a home to being the new talent in search of a good home. 

I left my guild yesterday.

Suffice it to say I will not be disclosing the reasons why publicly or for the sake of page views.  However, if you ask the forum trolls they of course seem to know more about it than I do.  Funny how that works!  What I will say is that I continue to love and be proud of Apotheosis and I will continue to support their progression and their folks in the blogosphere that helped get me where I am today.  I really would not be here without them. 

Things have changed quite a bit since the last time that I found myself on either side of the recruitment coin and I was pretty surprised at the current state of things.  Let’s take a peek at some of the things that stood out to me during my first day of being a priest without a guild.

One of the things that really struck me in my time spent on the Guild Recruitment forums was how much the balance of power has shifted.  In the past, a guild would throw up a post and eager, impressionable raiders would throw themselves at the feet of recruitment officers and beg for a chance to be taken on board and given a shot.  Now it’s the other way around.  Players post what they are looking for in a guild and recruitment officers or assistants fling themselves at prospective applicants, usually in the form of lengthy cut and paste advertisements about what their guilds have to offer.

The whole thing seems to lack any kind of human interaction or personal touch.  It’s all numbers, hours and time zones.  Tier numbers, years active and bosses downed.  Server rankings and World of Logs statistics.  Most of the time that a guild responds to someone they don’t even include the applicants name.  It’s just copy and paste.  It all happens so fast, too.  I had at least a half dozen responses within the first half hour of my posting.  Either I had really underestimated my value as a player or these people were in desperate need of a healing priest.

By the time I got through the walls of text left on my thread and the humorous attempt by a forum troll to derail my thread my brain hurt and I decided to log on for a bit and make sure my gear was in order, because I knew all eyes were going to be on my Armory profile over the next week or so.  I wanted to make sure I didn’t have any stray gems or enchants that were standing out or anything like that.

Shortly after logging in, I received five whispers from various people who had seen my thread and were very interested in discussing it with me.  Some of them were people who had already left a response on the Guild Recruitment boards and others just cut out the middleman and made low level alts to come talk to me directly.  Up until this point, I never had a use for the chat feature where you can create separate windows for your whispers.  Some of these people were incredibly friendly and didn’t mind answering my questions.  Others seemed pushy and acted as if they had a quota to fill or like they were going to receive some kind of commission by recruiting me and they had to push to make that big sale.

One or two guilds really stuck out it in mind and I submitted applications with them.  I tend to app really well and received a half dozen replies by the time I went to sleep.  I really like this guild, from what I have seen of them so far.  They have a nice website, they seem friendly and still focused on serious progression.  Their questions for me were well thought out and very valid inquiries.  I decided that I would spend the week apping to various guilds that caught my eye and doing interviews, with the goal of deciding where I will go by Monday.  I think not raiding for anything longer than a week would give me withdrawal symptoms and I don’t want that.  I truly love what I do and I can’t wait to get back to that routine again.

Even though I never thought I would be back in this position again, I’m determined to make the most of it and to find the right fit for me.  I did it once before and I believe I can do it again.  I have learned a lot in my travels and I’m still learning.  I wholeheartedly believe that a guild can be everything you want it to be and you just have to look around to find that right one.  I’m not perfect and I certainly don’t expect my guild to be. 

But you can’t blame a girl or a guild for trying.

21 Responses to “Demand”

  1. Gina March 22, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I’ve never really been on the other side of the equation in actively looking for a guild. On alliance side where I started I was in a IRL friend guild, then moved to Horde to join another IRL friend guild, was recommended for a 25m team with friends, then after started up our own guild.

    Now, I’m an officer and handle the recruitment for our guild. But I just can’t imagine being that pushy on a potential recruit, it’s not the sort of impression I want to give about the “family” we’ve built up in our guild.

    While we have a focus on progression, we find many of our recruits through friends and word of mouth other then open recruitment. I’d rather have a smaller amount of super awesome raiders around us. Actually the times I’ve actually reached out through the recruitment forums have rarely landed me any quality players.

    Actually in general, I think it’s hard to really REALLY be sure we’re in a place with like-minded people. I don’t think I’d have played this game so long if I didn’t genuinely care about the people in my team with me. But not all people find that quickly.

    Good luck in your hunt sweetie but don’t settle for anything less than the perfect fit for you ❤ Huggles! Anyone would be lucky to have you on their team!

    • Oestrus March 22, 2011 at 10:14 am #

      You can tell there’s certainly an urgency with regards to guilds trying to recruit certain classes/specs. I know several other bloggers have posted about their frustrations and it’s quite obvious in how these recruitment assistants or officers behave. Even when I was helping out with it, if you weren’t on WoWLemmings and hitting “Refresh” every few minutes to get that ideal recruit first, you would end up at the bottom of a page of responses a mile long. It’s extremely cutthroat and one of the reasons I stepped down from doing it. I didn’t have the patience or the time to devote to the rat race of scooping up potential recruits before anyone else could get their hands on them.

      • Kuri March 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

        WoWLemmings… I never knew such a site existed. This is crazy.

        • Oestrus March 28, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

          Welcome to 2011, sir!

  2. Beruthiel March 22, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Recruitment right now is just such a challenge. I’ve found recruitment this expansion to be the toughest – worse than vanilla, worse than TBC and worse that WotLK.

    I have my theories on why it’s been such a challenge – but all I can say is that this expansion is most certainly the worst it’s been in my 6+ years of playing the game. Of course, that doesn’t give people the right to be discourteous, but I can empathize and understand the pressure a lot of guilds may be under to fill holes in their rosters.

    I would imagine that any player with skill is probably a hot commidity right now!

    Good Luck with your search! 🙂

    • Oestrus March 22, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      Thank you, Beru!

      In some ways I like that some of the power has gone back to the player instead of resting solely on the guild. I’ve had guilds approach me that I never would have dreamed of even trying to talk to, because they’re so much more advanced than I currently am. I wouldn’t have thought they would give me the time of day. But they’re interested and reaching out and I feel like they’re more inclined to broaden their horizons or give people a shot they normally wouldn’t.

      Hopefully that makes higher tiers of content seem less out of reach for some people. Especially if they have the skill and really want it. Sort of like being a “diamond in the rough.”

      🙂

      • Joe Ego March 22, 2011 at 11:17 am #

        Don’t sell yourself short. If the schedule works, shoot for the moon. Even vodka & Premo don’t run with supermen.

        • Oestrus March 22, 2011 at 11:29 am #

          I understand what you’re saying and that I probably could have a chance at getting into a guild at that level.

          But I also understand how something can look worse than it really is. It would look like I was leaving my guild because of a lack of progression, which I wasn’t. It would look like I was looking for a free ride or like I wanted to be carried, which I don’t. It would look like I was wanting more or better gear, when I’m already geared out of my gourd. I know those things aren’t true, but I know how people can perceive things. I’m certainly no stranger to that.

          It’s more of a peace of mind thing than anything else. I would feel better knowing that I would be joining a guild closer to my level and where I would feel like I’m working hard and earning my keep and helping them be better, rather than them just taking me there. If that makes any sense.

  3. Windsoar March 22, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    It IS a different recruitment scene now. If nothing else, players have much more flexibility in picking up and moving around to find a better fit. And hey, as someone who was recently recruited from their blog (weirdness), all I can say is being picky isn’t a bad thing ^^

  4. Jadesea March 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    As an officer trying to keep up with the constant recruitment needs (especially the healers) I do too feel the switch from eager recruits seeking us out to us needing to be eager to find good recruits. We have suffered from a chronic lack of healing priests for a long time and I’ve been wondering if it’s more common than just my guild. Like do good priests get swept up quickly into higher progression guilds because healing priests are very versatile right now.
    Good luck with finding a good home. I’ve always felt that finding a good fit for a guild is like finding a second home.

    • Oestrus March 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

      You say you’re looking for priests?

      *clicks on your website*

      • Jadesea March 22, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

        You’re healing posts are so enthusiastic that you inspired me to try holy on my priest. Of course my first instance was terrible so I’ve decided I’d try leveling a baby priest so I’d learn talent point by talent point and spell by spell how to be holy.

        • Oestrus March 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

          Holy has really come a long way. I can’t say that I would level with it, but I have heard discipline has gotten better to level as. I actually leveled this toon with my real life boyfriend at the time and we did the tank/healer combo. I was a Blood Elf back then. I leveled shadow from 70 – 80 and then from 80 – 85. It served me pretty well.

          I am curious to try leveling another priest, just to get a feel for how things have changed. Maybe I could take a cue from Lissanna and do a lowbie holy guide or something.

          /ponder

  5. Saga March 22, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I hope that you find a new home soon.

    It’s been a long time since I was looking for a guild, and while we do need a few more people for ours (as people have said, recruiting is really slow this expansion) we’re not in the top tier of guilds and it makes it even harder.

    But we don’t jump on people in the way you describe (maybe that’s where we go wrong? *lol*), though I suspect that’s more for the higher end guilds.

    It’s crazy how so in demand some classes/specs are though. There almost seem to be an over abundance of dps while all tanks and healers are scarce.

    Ironically though my guild has Priests coming out of its ears (since some were saying Priests are in high demand). We recently did a 10m raid with four priests… Yep.. four. One disc, one holy and two shadow. Obviously not an ideal setup, but it was all we had online at the time.

  6. Ophelie March 22, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    When you mentioned you might be back on the guild market, I was all hoping it meant you had landed yourself that promotion. I’m sorry to hear that your moving on was for other reasons 😦

    I still have a few months to go before I put myself out there and I’m worried that my lack of Nef and HM experience is going to hold me back, desperate recruiters or not.

    Have you narrowed down your search to a couple of guilds? I’m excited to hear where and with whom you’ll eventually choose to raid with!

    • Oestrus March 22, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      I have no idea where I’m going to end up!

      Right now, I’m just going over the replies to my Guild Recruitment thread and weeding out the people who replied and seeing who really stands out to me. I’ve met some lovely people in impromptu Vent conversations, where we discuss what each of us is looking for. I have a Vent interview tonight with one guild and I’m about to submit apps to at least two more by tomorrow. So it’s coming along!

  7. Hestiah March 23, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    You’re an awesome person and I love you. I wish you luck and I’m sure that since you are such a good player you’ll find yourself a new home soon enough. Most definitely a home that is a better fit, and hopefully you can find some semi-equivalent substitutes for me and Dahrla. 😉

    • Oestrus March 23, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Nobody can replace you whores! I meant everything I said about you two in my goodbye post. I adore you both, probably more than you know.

      Apotheifers 4 Life!

  8. Zinn March 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Oh my, another one. It seems common for people to leave their guilds. People around me and people around the bloggosphere. I’m at a crossroad regarding this step myself. I am somewhat worried as to what this mass emigration is about, but maybe I am overreacting. Hope you’ll find your fun again!

    • Oestrus March 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Well you are certainly not at a crossroads, in terms of blogging. What’s this, 3 links from WoWInsider in the last couple of weeks? You are on fire, my dear and I couldn’t be happier for you.

      I just threw up a bunch of links, for guilds who are seeking new members. Feel free to take a peek and see if one may be just what you are looking for!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Supply « The Stories Of O - March 24, 2011

    […] of thought and careful consideration, I have decided which guild I am going to join, following my recent departure from my previous guild.  The last few days have been nothing short of a blur.  I was very fortunate to have met a number […]

Leave a Reply

