Opening (Closing) The Rift

25 Apr

I write about what I know.  I write about what I’m living and what I’m experiencing.  For the last few weeks, I have been very involved with Rift and have been spending the nights that I don’t play WoW and that I don’t have other plans playing that.  I really enjoy it and I feel like there is a real market for blogs and for guides that help players who are either new to the game or already playing the game to sort of find their way.  Rift inspires me – enough that I decided this weekend that I want to start posting blog entries about it.  Before I go any further, I do want to post a couple of disclaimers.  Because I knew when I made this decision that a number of assumptions were probably going to be made and I want to try and dispel them the best that I can.  Not so much for anyone else’s benefit, but for my own.

First and foremost, I am not quitting WoW and I will still be posting predominantly about that subject.  That’s where my heart is right now.  I just feel like there is a serious lack of resources about Rift and that there could be a niche for someone like me to share their thoughts and to shed some light on things that could be causing players confusion or frustration.  Most of the blogs or guides that I have found pertaining to Rift are typically samples of work that lead to advertisements to buy entire guides in full, they end up being gold farmers or they don’t cover anything from the perspective of someone who really plays the game.  The only real positive resource that I have found is Planar Tear, which is a sister site to World of Matticus.  Other than that, the number of helpful resources or blogs is pretty low.  Why not write about the things that I’m curious about and see if I can help others at the same time?

Next, I will not be brow beating anyone into playing Rift or trying to sell people on why I play and that you should, too.  I understand that true gamers are capable of playing multiple games at one time and that it’s unrealistic to expect them to have just one hobby to focus on.  There’s nothing wrong with playing WoW, then Dragon Age 2 and maybe a side of Portal 2, as well.  I don’t understand the recent trend of players forcing others to decide on one game and only one game and God help you if you can’t decide or you try to play them all.  I don’t buy into the supposed rivalry that exists between Rift and WoW that has caused many players to shun bloggers that they enjoy, because they have decided to give Rift a try.  The reasons that you enjoy those blogs hasn’t changed.  You go for the blogger.  You go for their personality and their outlook on life.  I think it’s unfair to write someone off, because they wanted to try something new and because they are enjoying it and want to share that with others.  I would like to think the reasons you enjoy reading certain people’s blogs would still shine through, even on posts that you may not have an immediate interest in and that you would still possibly enjoy what they have to say.

At the end of the day, I would like to think that this won’t change anything and people will still be stopping by my site, at the rate that they usually do (or possibly even more so).  I would like to think that people would respect a blogger’s decision to give something else a try and see if it’s something they can possibly enjoy or relate to, as well.  That’s what I would really like to have happen and I just thought I should toss that out there before I proceed.  Hopefully I can count some of you in for the ride.

The guest post that I helped write for Healbot is up and you can also find contributions from Alacranmex and Beruthiel, the bloggers behind Stand In the Blue Circle and Falling Leaves And Wings (respectively).  Feel free to check out the post that we all wrote together and then show Alarcran and Beru some traffic love, while you’re at it.

2 Responses to “Opening (Closing) The Rift”

  1. Zaralyn April 25, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    While I agree that gamers can enjoy more than one game at a time (I’m currently working on the Age of Empires Beta), I disagree about your statements on why people read blogs. Personally, I read blogs for the information (whether it’s theory crafting or speculation). While seeing the blogger’s personality through their posts is interesting, there are lots of interesting people who write on subjects I am totally uninterested in (such as fashion blogs!), and so I don’t read them.

    For me, if a blogger I’m following states that they’ve left WoW, I will generally stop reading them because their posts are no longer relevant to my interests. It doesn’t mean that I hate Rift or whatever they’re doing, but that I only have so much time and I’d rather read about the games I’m playing.

  2. Oestrus April 25, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Hey there Zara,

    That’s a great way of looking at it! I guess what I was trying to illustrate or talk about was that there are many people are who are shunning certain bloggers and they’re maybe not being as mature about it or handling it the way that you are.

    Instead of saying (like you did): “I will generally stop reading them because their posts are no longer relevant to my interests,” I see a lot of “Ew! Rift! Get it off my reader. Get it off! Off!” and they almost feel betrayed that the blogger has gone that route. It gets very personal and almost irrational, very quickly. That’s the reaction I don’t understand and am trying to sort of rally against.

    I just would like to see bloggers being given the benefit of the doubt, when they try new things or try to open themselves up to other possibilities. Especially when they make it clear that their original focus or interest is still largely in tact.

Leave a Reply

