4.1.0 Updates & Suggested Reading

26 Apr

This post will be pretty brief, but I did want to say that I have updated my Guide to the Chakra Sutra with the minor change to Chakra (regarding the change in its duration) and that my talent analysis and glyph guide are updated to be in line with patch 4.1.0.  Some of the links may have changed, so please update your resources if that is the case. 

In addition to the blog posts that I have created, there are some other excellent posts that I have discovered recently that I would highly suggest to any priest in need or anyone who is just looking to broaden their healing horizons. 

First up, Zelmaru spent a lot of time and effort creating her own holy priest guide and it’s incredibly thorough and fun to read.  She makes it all seem really approachable and covers a lot of ground. 

Next up, Tomaj is a blogger I recently discovered that I have been many lively discussions on Twitter with and he wrote a lengthy write up on log comparisons between healers and where holy priests stack up amongst other healers in raids. 

Lastly, if you need something to listen to while you’re downloading the patch and taking in all of the new features, definitely stop on over to the Double O Podcast and take a listen to the first 2 episodes that Ophelie and I have whipped up for you.  We will be recording Episode 3 this weekend, with our first guest host Lady Erinia.  That episode should be uploaded on Monday for your listening pleasure.

Please check out any of the above sites or guides and keep an eye out for future posts, that will talk about more changes from 4.1.0 as they happen and as they affect us. 

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the patch!

6 Responses to “4.1.0 Updates & Suggested Reading”

  1. Kuri April 26, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    That Murloc Parliament article is beast. BEAST, I SAY.

    Good round-up! Makes me wish there were Rogue changes actually worth mentioning. (inb4zomgrecuperate%’s)

    • Oestrus April 26, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      Yeah, Zel did a tremendous job with that. Even I was a little envious, like “Damn, wish I had thought of that.” But I love her and her work, so I’m happy to support her and we’re all in the same boat and after the same things. I’m glad you liked it!

      Holy priests didn’t have many changes, either. I know disc has more to talk about, I’m sure. I guess I should be happy that “No news is good news.” There were other classes with far more to worry/talk about (i.e. druids).

      • Kuri April 26, 2011 at 10:11 am #

        Part of me wishes Rogues saw some more changes, but I know it speaks to the overall “balance” of our class if we’re not getting fiddled with endlessly. (Let’s ignore Subtlety PvE.)

        Maybe try your hand at a Disc article or 3, for kicks. 😛

        • Oestrus April 26, 2011 at 10:25 am #

          I know nothing about discipline – though I know my guild would like me to eventually build towards getting a solid disc off-spec and learning the finer points of it. I’ll get around to it eventually.

          I have to admit that the spec never really interested me. I used it as a PVP spec in Burning Crusade and that was fun and I tried using it as a raid spec in Wrath and hated it.

  2. Rax April 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I think its interesting to note the differences in your talent guide and the one presented on Murloc Parliament. I don’t think either of you are wrong by the way, but just shows that there are some meaningful choices to be made when talenting a holy priest, that can affect spell choice and throughput.

    Also I enjoyed the pod cast, and you two seemed to be getting more relaxed and natural. Keep up the great work.

    • Oestrus April 27, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Hi there Rax,

      Thanks for stopping by and for the feedback! For some reason, I can’t pull up the Murloc Parliament guide on my computer at work, so I can’t immediately reference the differences in our guides. However, I’m all for differing opinions and I’ll be the first to say that I tend to make some more eclectic choices with my gear and talents. Also, I do believe the MP guide was more aimed at 10 man priests – so that could explain some of the differences, too. Mine is more from my 25 man experiences than anything.

      Either way, I think it’s great! It shows that you can be successful a number of different ways and I think the community could stand to have more of that, rather than a feeling of “you MUST do this” or “this is the ONLY way.”

Leave a Reply

