20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge – Day 1

29 Apr

I tend to be late for the party about a lot of things.  I didn’t catch on to “Battlestar Galactica” until well after it was over with.  I just now became a fan of that song by Cee-Lo and I didn’t even learn how to ride a two wheel bicycle until I was twelve.  You get the idea.

So it comes as no surprise that I didn’t really have any interest in Saga’s 20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge until well after the fact.  I saw many people that I Follow on Twitter taking part in it and I noticed many bloggers that I read religiously also jumping on the bandwagon.  All of this free time that I suddenly have at the office has led me to re-examine my opinion on the Challenge and I have to say that I’m definitely interested and that I will now be taking part in it, too.

I can’t say that I’m going to do them in any particular order or even that I’m going to do all 20 days.  I think I’ll take a look at the list of topics and choose what I feel like writing about at that time.  Who knows – I may even move on to the Challenge that inspired Saga to create hers.

Day 01 – Introduce yourself.

Hullo!  My name is Erin, though some of you may know me as “Oestrus.”  I’m 27 years old and I’m from Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  I have been a gamer for most of my life, starting with card games like “Magic: The Gathering” and moving on to “Pokemon.”  Then I began playing a LARP version of “Vampire: The Masquerade,” which led me to try “World of Warcraft.”  I have tried branching out into other games, like “Champions Online” and “Aion,” but none of them have really stuck or interested me the way that WoW has.

I started my WoW raiding career as a healing priest in Vanilla, then I re-rolled to a Horde moonkin shortly after the release of Burning Crusade.  Halfway through the available content in that expansion, I became a full time resto druid and did that all the way through Wrath.  My moonkin was named “Ouranos,” which led me to earning the nickname “O” or “Big O.”  Most people couldn’t pronounce it and I was playing a giant chicken at the time, so it made sense.  “Ouranos” eventually became “Oestrus” (which then led to “O Face“) and that name kind of stuck with me.  I like it because it’s unique and anyone who knows what “Oestrus” really means will understand that it goes along with my personality perfectly.

Shortly before the release of Cataclysm, I started to get bored with being a resto druid and I wanted to try something new.  I was lucky enough to get a Beta key and to be able to test out a lot of things before anyone else.  I used this time to decide what I wanted to play, as well as to practice and hone my craft.  Eventually, I decided that I wanted to be a holy priest and christened myself as “Obscene.”  This also goes along with my personality and falls nicely in line with the “O” moniker that I have come to know and love.  I have been doing that ever since and don’t see myself giving that up any time soon.

When I’m not playing the game or doing anything related to it, I enjoy catching up on long lost shows on Netflix or renting movies through iTunes.  I love to read and write and I enjoy spending hours in old bookstores and libraries, curled up with a good book.  I enjoy going out to eat and trying new restaurants or local hot spots.  While I am more of a homebody at heart, I do like to go all out on the occasions that I do tear up the town with my friends.  I’m not a big drinker – but I do enjoy a good dance club or a nice corner bar with a friendly vibe to it.

I think that sums me up nicely or at least gives people a healthy introduction to who I am.  Keep an eye out for more of my posts, in response to the 20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge!

4 Responses to “20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge – Day 1”

  1. Hestiah April 29, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    It’s interesting to read about bloggers as they participate in this challenge. I’ve had a post started for Day 1 for weeks. I guess you beat me to it, so you’re not the last.

    Can’t wait to read your posts on the other subjects.

  2. Oestrus April 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I admit that one of the reasons I was hesitant to participate was because everyone else was doing it, too and you know how much I enjoy being the rebel or the outsider! Now that most people are finished with it or the buzz has died down, I feel more inclined and inspired to do it.

    I look forward to seeing your posts, too!

  3. Saga April 29, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I will admit, I never thought the Challenge would catch on the way it did. It’s kind of crazy how many people have actually participated. I’m humbled to be honest.

    I really do look forward to reading your entries though. I’ve found it a great way to get to know bloggers I already read, and I’ve even found a bunch of new ones!

    Like you I’ve tried a few other MMORPGs, but I just don’t seem to get the same feeling I did when I first started playing WoW – and so I’ve stuck with WoW throughout and left the others. They weren’t bad games (except Conan at the start with all the bugs, but that’s fixed now), just not as nice a fit for me as WoW is I guess.

    • Oestrus April 29, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

      Ha! This is all because of you! I think that’s what makes the story so much more enjoyable, when you don’t plan on something like this happening.

      It’s funny – I’ve always been open to the idea of moving on from WoW, but no game has ever been able to accomplish anything close to that for me. If I could find something that gives me what WoW does, I would have no problem leaving. It’s tough to compete with, though Rift is certainly coming close to me. It would have to not so much improve, but remain where it’s at and show some signs of longevity and endurance before I would go there. But it’s tempting.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

