20 Days Of WoW Blogging Challenge – Day 2

2 Jun

Day 02 – Why I Started A Blog

I’ve been blogging about my personal life for quite some time now.  I remember the first time I had ever heard about a blog or saw one, I was visiting one of my friends who was away at college.  Her and her roommate had discovered a site called Livejournal and started blogs of their own.  I thought it was a neat idea and I had always loved to write.  So it didn’t seem like a big leap for me to start one of my own and to talk about my own unique experiences.

I stayed with Livejoural for a few years and then I moved on to MySpace, when that became popular and started blogging over there.  Then I went back to Livejournal and that’s when I discovered a community called WoWLadies and a post by Lilitharien, who was seeking out another blogger to fill out the ranks at Divine AegisSince I started blogging about WoW, I admit that my personal blog has sort of been abandoned and I can’t even remember the last time I posted something on there.

I miss it sometimes, but I feel like I have other outlets where I can let out my personal feelings (like Twitter and Facebook) which I feel fills the void nicely.  I also get so much enjoyment out of blogging about WoW that I don’t feel like I’m losing anything by doing it.  I’ll admit it’s a lot of work and it takes a certain amount of dedication to keep a good thing going, but I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t love it and I truly do love my blog and what I’m able to do with it.

More than anything, I blog to be relateable.  I blog because I want people to read what I have to say and what I’ve been through and say “I’ve been there” or “I’ve felt that.”  That’s also why I read the blogs that I do.  I want to feel like I’m not the only one who has been through something or handled something a certain way.  It’s nice to know you’re not alone or you’re not strange for thinking something you shouldn’t or for wanting to do something that’s against the grain.  That’s a really great feeling and I love bringing out that feeling in others and also finding it in myself.  It makes it all worth while and worth it to keep going.

4 Responses to “20 Days Of WoW Blogging Challenge – Day 2”

  1. Darista June 2, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    So I see you decided to jump on the band wagon! I’m working on my Day 19 atm, but saw your Tweet and thought I’d come on over! Can’t wait to see what all of your other days bring 🙂

    • Oestrus June 2, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Hey you!

      I’ve always been interested in the Challenge, but I got wrapped up in all the 4.2 things and then I had a lot of free time at work which led to more posts being churned out than usual. Now that work has picked up a bit again and this week has shaped up to be pretty hectic, I figured I would do one or two more days of the challenge just to post *something* on my page to keep people interested.

      I have a few priest based posts stewing and I may churn one or two out in advance, so I can publish them next week and be prepared for that.

      I’m glad you came by!

      • Darista June 2, 2011 at 11:18 am #

        Sounds like a good plan! I had kind of a similar experience … I just got really busy in general, then 4.2 stuff happened, I got all sorts of ideas, etc. Funny how that happens. One Challenge Day left for me!

        I know others really liked the blogging challenege mainly because they were running out of things to write about for the time being, so having it was nice for them so they could have something to post each day, or each week, like you said. I know I appreciated it! Haha 😉

  2. Apple June 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    If you ever end up back on LJ, though, lemme know, I’ll adderate you. ❤

Leave a Reply

