Bang

10 Aug

“This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
Not with a bang but a whimper.”

– T.S. Eliot, “The Hollow Men.”

I woke up the other day to find this post in the Breakfast Topics section over at WoWInsider and it got me thinking.  I related a lot to what the author had to say.

I always imagined that when the time came for me to quit World of Warcraft that I would go out in a blaze of glory.  I fantasized about going out like Jack Berger and randomly shouting “Fuck you and fuck you!” before casually walking off and going about my business like such a random outburst never happened.

Or maybe I would go out in the most passive-aggressive way possible.  I would tell people I was quitting the game, leave a huge goodbye post on various forums and check back often to see who would miss me or who would try to convince me to stay.

Instead, it just kind of happened.  I received an e-mail from Blizzard, telling me that my subscription could not be renewed because the credit card linked to my account was no longer valid.  This is because I had to cancel my debit card a few weeks ago, due to some unauthorized charges that were made to my checking account.  Normally, I would have been all over that.  I would have been tapping my fingers impatiently on my desk while staring at the login screen, waiting for my payment to go through so I could keep playing.

This time, I took a good, long look at the e-mail and deleted it.  Just like that, I had decided that I would not be renewing my subscription to World of Warcraft and that I was ready to finally move on with my life and with my gaming experience.  No string of expletives.  No emotional forum posts.  No one last thing before I go.

I have been spending a lot more time playing Rift and I’m really enjoying it.  I belong to a great guild that is home to some familiar faces in the blogosphere who I can see myself doing big things with.  With that said, I have decided to begin posting regularly about topics pertaining to Rift, specifically healing and the calling that I play.  I feel inspired in ways that I haven’t experienced in a long time and I’m eager to pour out my thoughts and feelings here.

Because Rift is a new game, they don’t have the resources that World of Warcraft does.  There isn’t an Elitist Jerks or a Blog Azeroth or a WoWInsider just yet.  There aren’t many personal blogs out there that talk about things from a player’s perspective.  There is a huge niche out there that could be filled and I would like to be one of the first to fill it.  It’s a huge opportunity and I look forward to giving it a shot and seeing what becomes of it.  I plan on giving my blog a face lift,  too, to reflect that I’m going in a new direction.

I have no intention of deleting World of Warcraft from my computer.  I have nothing bad to say about the game or those who continue to play it.  I still plan on going to BlizzCon in a couple of months and continuing to support those who I regularly follow and enjoy reading.  The Double O Podcast is still going strong and you can count on Ophelie and I to continue bringing you the best episodes we possibly can and to keep talking about the things that you all want to hear about.

They say that lightning never strikes twice.

We’ll see about that!

28 Responses to “Bang”

  1. Cynwise August 10, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Aha, so this is your 100th post!

    When you haven’t logged in for a few weeks, it’s time to stop paying. Whether this is a break, or really the end, it’s good to step away and do new things. I’ll miss your blogging about WoW, but you’re not going anywhere – not really. 🙂

    So – congratulations, and best of luck with the new direction!

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 8:24 am #

      I couldn’t think of a more appropriate way to ring in #100 than with this type of subject matter, really.

      🙂

      I’m certainly not going anywhere. I will probably stay on top of current events in WoW, just because I like to stay informed of my surroundings and the game is still considered a part of all of that. I may do the occassional post about something general, but nothing priest based or class specific anymore.

      If a new set of 5 mans comes out, I may try them. If a new expansion comes out, I’ll probably level a toon again. You never know!

  2. Psynister August 10, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    It’ll be interesting to see some Rift posts. I’ve already thrown in the towel on that game, but it had its moments. While I was playing I only found about 2 blog that really had any useful information in them, so they could definitely use another blogger that already knows the ropes.

    Good luck, and good gaming!

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      When I first started playing, that was the first thing I did. I went looking for blogs, resources I could get understand and get behind. Most of the guides I found were ones you had to pay for or they were on sites that didn’t look very reputable or weren’t updated that often. They also didn’t seem to have a personal touch to them.

      So, we’ll see what happens! I’m not out to win hearts and minds or anything big, but I think it could be fun to write about everything I’ve learned and that I’m still learning and see if anyone else is going through similar things or would like to.

      Thanks for the well wishes, Psyn!

  3. Arazu August 10, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    The lack of an EJ or those other things for Rift has little to do with age. Elitist Jerks has been around and dedicated to Wow since before it even went into beta (even though its forum is terrible these days trying too hard to copy SA).

    That doesn’t make Rift a bad game, of course, but it’s different playing a niche game. People flat out don’t believe me when I tell people original Everquest is still alive and Wow couldn’t kill it. In Everquest secrets were guarded a lot more closely. It had a few sites that were similar to and largely inspired the sites that exist now for Wow (the original thottbot, lucy, magelo), but things like strategies were flat out not ever discussed in public. Information became a lot more important possibly because it was actually possible to hide (and there was a progression advantage to hiding things), whereas the number of people playing Wow makes things impossible to hide, so people are freer with ideas and information.

    While many people who do quit Wow often come back, it is indeed possible to sever completely on the first try. I quit Everquest after playing it for almost 8 years and never looked back, after being extremely dissatisfied with changes to my class. I was the healing officer for a top-10 guild and got into beta for the next expansion, and I hated what they did so I just left (actually quite similar to what you’re going through with your holy priest). I didn’t even find another game, I just said I’m done and logged off and that was it. I still remember where I logged out my cleric for the last time.

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      I would argue that age has something to do with it. While those sites that you mentioned may have been around before World of Warcraft’s inception, they are the size that they are and as well known as they are now because of their age. I wouldn’t have expected them to reach those heights back when they first came out.

      There certainly are the makings of a community in Rift, but it’s small and not really well known yet. People want information that’s accessible. They may not understand what that information means, but they want to know that it’s out there. So the sites that exist now could very well become the next big thing (like a WoWInsider), but they’re not there yet. That’s where people like me come in, who would like to be a part of that and see if we can make such a thing happen.

  4. Brian Goodrich (@Brian_Goodrich) August 10, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Good luck to you! I hope you have fun playing Rift! I can’t wait to see your posts on Rift.

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      Thank you, Brian!

      P.S. Followed you back on Twitter, by the way.

  5. Windsoar August 10, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    I wish you the best of luck in your (new? :P) ventures! Sometimes you just need a break–MAYBE you’ll come back, maybe not, but you’ll still be gaming and enjoying those virtual worlds 🙂 I’ve immensely enjoyed your blog, so I expect I’ll still be around to pester you from time to time even if this is the final goodbye to Warcraft.

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 9:29 am #

      I’m definitely leaving the door open for a possible come back and trying not to do anything terribly “final.” I’m not selling my account. I’m not throwing away my disks. I’m not deleting the game from my computer. You never know what might happen! For now, I am done with the game and I’m looking forward to exploring something fresh and new and writing a lot about it.

      My blogroll will still remain up and your blog will be featured prominently there, as always.

  6. myrift August 10, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Nice I look forward to reading another Blog about RIft. I have found a few that I plan on following hope to read yours soon.

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Thank you! I’m excited to get my name out there and see what other resources I can dig up and support, too.

  7. Travis Bailey (@travisinNC) August 10, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    I’m really sorry to see you leaving the WoW community as you will be sorely missed. I remember a listener to slash 2 decided to play a game of lawn darts at the Tauren capital on her final evening. Let me know if your planning any kind of in game event, I’d love to attend!

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      My subscription is up, so I couldn’t log in to the game to do anything like that, even if I wanted to.

      It’s a neat idea, though!

      By the way, I love the user pic.

      😉

  8. Erin (Slash2 Ava) (@that_ghoul_ava) August 10, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    We all pass the torch; games get old after a time, and we look for something new. I have never come close to playing any game as long as I did WoW, and I met some amazing people who became RL friends, and even a husband. 🙂 Those of us that quit WoW have some great memories, and I would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

    That being said, it’s a happy occasion for us Rift players! I am really enjoying the game, and the pace of content being added is amazing, and the raids are challenging, and require progression – notne of this ‘ a new raid is out, nerf the old ones and forget about them because you can gear up in a new 5 man and crafting stuff'”…I hated that! I’m also glad you’re enjoying the Inebriated guild!!

    If anyone else wants to give Rift a try, you are welcome to join us on Shatterbone, Defiant side. Our raid roster only needs a DPS warrior (secondary tank soul required), but socials are welcome! http://www.drunktankgaming.com

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 11:54 am #

      This is my friend, Ava. She’s subtle.

      😉

  9. Joar August 10, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Well now I’m really curious about what calling / souls combination you play in RIFT!

    • Oestrus August 10, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      I’m a Cleric who leans towards Warden, but I plan on using Sentinel in raids. Simply because it’s hard to track HoTs from multiple people with the current raid frames and I’m curious about how Sentinel healing works. I don’t have much interest in Purifier right now, but that could change. Warden comes naturally to me, probably because of my history of being a resto druid in WoW and it has a lot of elements of that in the tree. Most of my posts will be about that, but others will be about Sentinel healing.

      What do you play?

  10. Gina / healbot.net August 11, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    Good luck sweetie! I’ll miss your priestly posts though 😦

    • Oestrus August 11, 2011 at 7:28 am #

      Thank you, Gina! You have been a big supporter of mine from the beginning and I will certainly do the same for you, going forward.

      I plan on changing up my blogroll over the weekend and I’ll be sure to save you a spot!

  11. Applee August 11, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I’d say I’ll miss you, but it’s not like we played together anymore. Still. ❤

    I really wish I had the money to purchase/subscribe to Rift – I was in beta and I enjoyed it a lot. Alas, I still enjoy WoW enough that I can't switch my subscription over.

    I look forward to seeing what you post, though!

    • Oestrus August 12, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

      Thanks, love!

      I’ll be sure to throw you on my blogroll, when I re-vamp it this weekend.

  12. Saif August 12, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Good luck! I have to admit, I got a bit sad reading this – though I have played RIFT and it’s still on my computer even if my account is canceled. I imagine I’ll reroll there once we hit the home-stretch between expansions again…

    Anyway, the best news is that you’re going to stay active, so hurray for that! Good luck. 🙂

    • Oestrus August 12, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Yes! I’m certainly going to be active. It may not about things people are going to want to read about or what they’re used to reading about from me, but I’ll still be churning out content and sharing my opinions.

      Thanks for the well wishes, Saif!

  13. Valithria August 20, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Goodness, goodness. I have come to your blog too late to actually begin reading your priest posts, but I suppose another way of looking at it is I have arrived just in time for a new era. I once tried rift on the “free trial” as a chloromancer healer, and it’s a good thing I didn’t purchase it immediately. Although I absolutely loved my class, my talent tree, and the game, my laptop at the time just couldn’t run the game at a playable frame rate. Now that I have purchased a new computer, though, it may be time for me to revisit my old passion for my chloromancer. If I were to do that though, I would need to delete my WoW account, since I simply don’t have the time to be playing both games seriously at the same time. Do you perhaps know of any trusted websites that purchase WoW accounts?

    • Oestrus August 22, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      Ha! I would like to think that most of my recent priest material could at least get you through the current tier of content and then maybe some resources on my blogroll could get you through the rest. I’m always amazed at how much mileage I get out of certain posts. My gear lists from ZA/ZG still generate quite a number of views and those dungeons have been out for quite some time now. You just never know.

      Chlormancers are a lot of fun. It’s still weird to have to include mages as healers, when I’m seeing healing assignments go out. That’s going to take some getting used to. I know that there is going to be a sale on Rift, if you buy it through Steam in the next week or so (as part of the 6 month anniversary shenanigans). You may want to pick it up then. Regarding selling your WoW account, I don’t know of any sites that could help you with that. That’s something I typically stay pretty far away from, for all the obvious reasons.

      Let me know if you find sites like that that are any good, just in case someone asks me this question again in the future. That way I can provide some sort of an answer for them.

      • Valithria August 22, 2011 at 9:00 am #

        To be honest, I wouldn’t be surprised if your priest guides were still useful to me, but at the same time, I’m not sure how much usage I will be getting out of them if I switch to them, hehe.

        I did love my chloromancer, but I was a bit intimidated by the general public looking down on me and saying that I was not a “real” healer. I’m not sure what kind of placements I would be able to find in raid groups as a chloromancer if this is the general opinion of them. For this reason, I’m considering switching to a cleric when I purchase Rift.

        Apparently, mmobay.com purchases WoW accounts, but the prices are such that I am presently unable to even receive back what I spent on WoW expansions/Game Time. I may have to level another few toons to 85 just to get back what I spent.

        • Oestrus August 22, 2011 at 9:05 am #

          Don’t get me wrong. It takes me a bit to really digest that Chloromancers *are* healers, but they are. I know that if it’s me and 2 of them, we can usually keep our targets up just fine. I don’t know how it works in a 5 man setting, but I don’t see as much of the bias as you had experienced. That’s not to say it isn’t happening. It just means that I haven’t personally seen it.

Leave a Reply

