Proud

27 Nov

I’m not proud of the time that I have spent in Cataclysm.

I’m not proud of the fact that I went through three different guilds, to get to the one that I’m currently in and that I don’t know how long I will remain with this one, either.  I’m not proud of the fact that there’s a huge three month gap in my activity, due to burnout, which led me to try other games and to pursue other avenues.  I’m not proud of the fact that I don’t have a single Al’akir or Conclave of Air kill on my record, despite the fact that I’ve spent countless nights wiping on said bosses, but missed out on the kill as a result of poorly timed nights requested off.

I can do better than that.  I know that I can.

Last night, I attended my 10 year high school reunion, and I came back home with a lot on my mind.  It was midnight and I needed something to do, something to take my mind off what I was going through, so I clicked on a link that someone posted on my guild’s forums and found a documentary called “Race To World First.”  It was an hour long film, which documented the competition that exists between guilds like Blood Legion, Premonition, Method, Ensidia, etc. and what goes on behind the computer screen, as well.  As I lay in bed, with a carton of milk and a package of cupcakes by my side, I thought to myself “I could do that.”  Then I asked myself, “Why aren’t I doing that?”

I don’t presume to think that I’m “good” enough to ever get into a guild like one of those featured in the movie, but I definitely think I could shoot for something higher than I have been.  I admit that I wanted something casual, to close out Cataclysm, simply because I missed too much and I wouldn’t have any legs to stand on if I tried to shoot for something better.  But, I think when Mists of Pandaria comes around that I want to go for something bigger.  I would like to be in a high ranking guild, somewhere between the top 250 to 500 range.  That’s the goal that I have decided to set for myself.  Bear in mind, that I am technically in a guild that meets that criteria, but I’m not part of the group that actually got there.  Right now, I’m just a casual ranked member, and I’m OK with that.  Come Mists of Pandaria, though, all bets are off.

I realize that I have a lot of work to do and a lot of time before I can make this dream a reality.  Here are a few of the immediate things that come to mind, in terms of things I could stand to work on:

 

1)  A profession change.  Most of the cool kids don’t keep a gathering profession and a crafting profession.  I would probably have to swap out my Herbalism for something else.  As long as I have an alt that can farm the herbs needed to level Alchemy, I should be OK.  But what profession would I take in its place?  Inscription?  Enchanting?  I don’t have it in me to level Jewelcrafting, so that’s out.  But I would need something else, to squeeze that extra drop of performance out of myself and my character.

2)  A change in perspective.  If I’m going to shoot for something loftier than what I’m doing right now, I have to be more flexible.  I can’t just be a holy priest or a discipline priest.  I have to be a healing priest.  I can still have my preferences and have that spec which I enjoy playing more, but I have to be willing to do what’s best for the fight and for the raid, as needed.  I would like to think I’m already making progress with this, but I still have a lot to learn with getting as comfortable with discipline as I am with holy.

3)  A change in attitude.  Ah, the big one.  I admit that I can be a handful and that I tend to jump to conclusions.  I admit that I don’t always know when to keep my mouth shut.  I work hard, I play hard, but my attitude and people’s perception of me always seems to get in the way of that.  That can’t happen if I’m going to try and hang with a different crowd of people than I’m used to.  It has to be about the work, about the performance.  I can’t let my opinions or my snark get in the way of that.  I can still be myself, but I have to rein it in a little bit.

 

I know I have a long road ahead of me, before I get to the point where I feel I’m ready to do this, and that’s even if a guild is gracious enough to see the potential in me to take me on board.  A number of stars are going to have to align for this all to work out, but I really want it and I’m determined to make it happen.  I want better for myself and I know that I can do it.  My mind is made up and now I have to start plotting out my course.

Who’s with me?

17 Responses to “Proud”

  1. Katarnas November 27, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    I have never been one of the “cool kids” of raiding and am unlikely to ever be, but I would agree with your three points.

    If you do go ahead and go for this. good luck and I hope to see you ranking up there when MoP arrives 🙂

    Kat

  2. Juvenate November 27, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I’d like to take this opportunity to say this: Never doubt yourself. Never settle for anything. Aim for the stars, they are within your reach.

    Also: What happens at Blizzcon, stays at Blizzcon. I have great respect for you O. Always have, always will. No matter what.

    -Juvenate

  3. Windsoar November 27, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Having goals and pushing for them is part of what makes the game fun (whether that be raiding or not). I know what a determined and driven person/player you are, and if you’re ready to look for a high-end progression guild in-game, I know that you can do it. You know what a screw-up I can be, and I’m currently sitting in a top US-600 guild, that has a casual schedule and has weathered deaths and roster replacements across the board.

    Good luck in your search (and preparation) and keep us posted on your success!

  4. Chloe November 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    If you want it, by all means, go for it. Your plan is solid and with enough research and theorycrafting, you can get there.

    However, make sure that’s what you want. You may find that the higher you move up the totem pole, more time will be required of you. You might be raiding Monday-Thursday night. Is that really what you want? There won’t be any flexibility. If you don’t show up due to real life, oh, whoops, we replaced you, sorry. There won’t be any dates, movies, dinners, or anything outside of being at your computer for possibly more time than what you want. Missing a raid would count against you more so than in the casual realm (2 nights a week tops). As long as you are happy and content with what you’ve got going on IRL (whatever that may be), then see if a 3, 4 or 5 day a week schedule can work for you.

    For everyone it is different, and it boils down to “where do I want to put my focus…and what is my end goal going to be regarding ___________?” There are lots of things you can find out just by researching potential guilds or if you are going to stay where you are, talking to the people in that higher team.

    I don’t want to rain on your thought parade but there is always the other side of the coin to consider!

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Hi Chloe,

      I’m glad that you’re bringing up the other side of the coin. I have certainly thought about all of those things. Most things in my life are pretty flexible and I don’t think I have anything going on that couldn’t be moved around to accommodate a more demanding raid schedule. I don’t think I could do anything more than 4 days a week. Ideally, I would like to raid only 3 days a week. But, I would do 4 for the right group.

  5. Velidra November 27, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Good luck. You’ll need it. It won’t be a easy road.

    But as long as you know that you can plan for it, that’ll make it easier.

    And yes, there will be a big time comitment, but once you get past the hardest bit and you get to a guild like big crits who’ve downed everything, you can be done after one night a decent chunk of the time. Which is a brilliant feeeling.

    And remember, its not about being the perfect player, its about learning from your mistakes. If you never make a mistake you can never learn from them and never get better.

    I think thats about it for the inspirational bit. Maybe.

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:38 am #

      Right. I’m kind of hoping that longer days in the beginning may lead to time off towards the end or sprinkled throughout.

      Oh, I make mistakes. I’m not saying that I don’t. But, I spend the time after the raid identifying them and kicking myself for them and trying to commit to not doing them again. That’s what counts.

      I like your inspiration! Give me more.

      🙂

  6. Dawn November 28, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    I don’t want to discourage you but I want to share some unglamorous perspective with you since I’ve been where you are.

    World/US first competing guilds have 5-10 hour raid nights, 7 days a week, until it’s all dead… this can last 1 week, or it can last 2 months. Many players take off school/work for the first week of heroic dungeons, just incase the tuning allows you to clear the whole thing in one lock out … most of these guilds prefer if you can do the same.

    If you can’t commit to this kind of raiding for a full tier, I’d caution you to stay away until you can (high end raiding is a great activity to explore when you’re unemployed.) Leaving in the middle of progression is the best way to burn every bridge you have in a guild, since the loss of a core player can cost the guild their World/US first kill (consider the time it takes to recruit, gear, and teach the fight a new player.)

    The above is the reason I’ve always leaned towards guilds in the 50-200 world rank range. (It’s also the reason I have never aped to vodka, despite my close ties with them.) At this level you can get a somewhat sane raiding schedule (4-5 hours day, 3-5 days a week) and still progress through content before it’s nerfed, which is all I really care about these days.

    If after reading this you’re still up for it, you have my well wishes. /salute

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      That’s kind of what I’m hoping for. I’m not looking for a Vodka or Ensidia type experience. Hell, I’d be happy even performing at the level that Big Crits is currently at, with their main raiding core. That would be enough to satisfy me and to make me feel like I’m accomplishing big things.

      Now if only I could get rid of some their healers to make room for me.

      😉

  7. Jamin (@JaminToTheTop) November 28, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    Interesting.

    I’ve also pondered this myself. However, with the time and sacrifices needed, it wasn’t going to cut it for me.

    Good Luck!

    – Jamin

  8. Tomaj November 28, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    I read all of this. But I disagree with the profession change. It’s akin to saying you should change your race from tauren to blood elf, troll or goblin. Herbalism has a pretty solid haste buff, and what is the difference between an equivalent of 80 haste and 80 intellect? For right now, it means a little extra mana (in cases like tailoring embroidery, or enchanting), but the haste buff provided from herbalism or engineering can also be good, too, as it helps with burst healing when needed. Moreover, it’s on-demand, which is why I’ve always been a proponent of Herbalism. And, of course, if they do happen to cap mana at a set amount in MoP, that intellect will be purely spellpower, so there’s something to think about there. At that point, it would become faster heals vs. bigger heals. Admittedly, if you had mining, I’d say yes, change that profession, as it provides you zero benefit other than an extra bit of survivability. 😛

    All that said – good luck, whatever your decision.

    • Tyben November 30, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

      I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see a race change in her future if she goes down this path. That’s just what you do at that level–chase that last fraction of a percent.

      • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:56 am #

        I’ve had a race change and a profession change be brought to my attention many times in my travels. I’m open to both, but again I wouldn’t do them for just anyone.

  9. ambient November 28, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    In my opinion, Jewelcrafting is one of the easiest crafting professions to level. The beginning can be painful, but once you hit 300, you’re home free. From that point on, leveling is via gem cuts rather than item creation. This gives you much greater flexibility, because you can cut any gem color — get one recipe for whatever color’s most plentiful and go to town. You can also cycle your toons through their monthly Consortium present bags in order to build up Outland gems.

    The early levels are tougher because you do need specific gems, so unless your server’s AH is pretty amazing, you’ll have to resort to some RNG prospecting. Mithril and Thorium (both the bars and their prospected gems) should be your only sticking points. However, you can farm amazing amounts of Thorium by making circles around the outside of Un’goro Crater. No complicated pathing, and the nodes will respawn by the time you loop back around!

    (Also, weird as it sounds, there actually IS a market for the lowbie craftables, because there aren’t enough heirlooms or early quest rewards in the finger and neck slots. Just requires the patience to list them over time without flooding the market.)

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      Hi Ambient,

      I couldn’t even get to 200 JC. I think it was the most frustration profession that I have ever tried to level and this was on an alt. So, I was funneling money to her, to level it. I was leveling the mining to keep up. I couldn’t keep up with the seemingly obscure mats that I needed, which didn’t seem to be coming from the actual gathering profession used in conjunction with it. I didn’t enjoy it – not one bit.

      I could see myself trying out Engineering or possibly even Enchanting. I leveled Enchanting on my paladin to max and I think I could do that again. Like I said, I know what I will *not* level. I just don’t know what I *would* level.

  10. Dreamy December 7, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    Hey! I’m one of those wow “hoarders” I do realize it’s a problem though. I’m the same way with alts. Mounds of level 50’s, all of whom I never ever play but refuse to delete because…well…they’re fiffttyyyyyy. ;__;

    You know what was really easy to level without even leaving my main city? Inscription! I did it in one night. I spent quite a bit, but it just flew by. The gold made from it isn’t bad either, despite what I originally thought. 🙂

    Good luck on finding what you’re looking for when the new exp comes out. Being in a higher up guild seems like a good adventure, and you can do it if you set you’re mind to it! (Sorry that was a tad cliche…but it’s true! )

    Also, sorry to just come out of nowhere. Well, I came from Blog Azeroth, I’m new and looking to make friends in the community. SO! nice meeting you and reading a bit of your blog 😀

Leave a Reply

