Progress

2 Dec

As a whole, I tend to avoid writing about my opinions on newly released content until I have been able to experience said content for a decent amount of time.  However, I have had a lot on my mind since patch 4.3 came out and I have been overall pretty impressed with what I have seen.  So, I felt the need to get a few things off my chest and share just what I have been up to since Tuesday and how I feel about certain things, thus far.

Out of the new vanity or quality of life features, the only one that I really have gotten any use out of or that I look forward to using more is transmogrification.  I have never been a packrat.  I’m not hurting for bag space.  I have never needed an entire guild bank to store all of my crap in.  Void Storage really doesn’t affect me.  Whenever I ask people why they hold on to so many seemingly useless things on their characters, I always feel like I’m watching an episode of “Hoarders.”  The reasons people give you are very similar to the reasons people give you on the show, as to why they can’t throw out a half dozen stacks of home remodeling magazines or why they need that can of hairspray from 1996.  “But, I might use this someday,” or “I can’t part with this, because it reminds me of ___ .”  They should seriously do a show for World of Warcraft hoarders.  I would watch the hell out of that.

I didn’t really plan ahead for transmogrification, so I basically just used whatever epics I had laying around in my bank, which happened to be the Merciless PVP set for priests.  I had the shoulders, helm, and gloves, and then I found a similar looking robe on the Auction House.  I finally found a way to use up those Justice Points that I had laying around!  Between buying the rest of the Merciless set and then having my eye on the Vengeful pieces, I’ll be farming Heroics just to keep up.  I’m also tempted to save up for the ICC tier set, which I deleted and don’t know why.  All of this focus on my appearance has also made me consider a race change, but performance also factors into that, too.  I’m torn between becoming a Blood Elf or a Troll, though I worry that choosing a Blood Elf seem common.  And I mean common in an “everyone has one” sense, not in a “floozy” kind of way.

The first thing I did on Tuesday was run the new 5 man Heroics, one after the other.  I grouped up with some guildies that I had never run with before and it was an interesting experience.  Some of them seemed really green or just immensely overwhelmed by everything happening around them, which is understandable.  I didn’t find either of the three new instances to be terribly hard, though Murozond in End Time seemed to hit harder than I expected, and the hourglass mechanic took some getting used to.  What has annoyed me about the Murozond encounter since then is that people still don’t seem to understand basic concepts regarding fighting dragons.  You don’t tank the dragon facing the raid.  You don’t stand behind them and get swiped by the tail.  Things like that.  We are on our third expansion and people still don’t remember these things.  It boggles the mind.

Most people seemed really stoked to be able to group side by side with Illidan in Well of Eternity, but I was never an Illidan fan girl, so that was lost on me.  The first boss is mighty annoying, mostly because of the demonic eyes that try to find you when you’re in stealth.  They find me every single time.  I think I managed to avoid them once and that was only because I was hugging the ring of fire and doing laps around the room.  I felt like I was humping pillars in the Arena all over again.  Truth be told, I was there to see Azshara.  I have always had a great appreciation for the character and I still cling to the hope that she will be an end boss that is given her proper due, someday.  Some people think her encounter is difficult, but I’m not one of them.  If anything, I was more bothered by the fact that her model is kind of wonky and the voice acting was overly feminine.  I imagined her being kind of angry and sounding a tad creepier, sort of like Vashj.  Instead, she sounded more like an overzealous party hostess, which I guess was the plan all along.

Hour of Twilight felt like it was over, before it even began.  The only boss that bothered me was Asira Dawnslayer and the fact that I was constantly interrupted or silenced.  I read that I could line of sight the dagger, by having people stand in front of me.  That didn’t work.  I tried putting a pillar between me and her, which kept the dagger from hitting me, but also kept me out of line of sight for healing the tank.  When I ran out to heal them, I got hit with the dagger almost instantly.  The problem with that fight is that the targeting debuff is permanent.  It’s not like you can line of sight it for a brief time, let it fall off, and then run back out.  You always have that mark on you, which means that you can always be chosen to be silenced and you can’t do much about it.  It’s an odd mechanic, to say the least.  Thankfully, she doesn’t hit too hard and things like Lightwell and Earth Shield (from when I ran this on my shaman) kept the tank healed throughout the encounter.

The next day, I set foot into the Raid Finder, to see what all the fuss was about.  I didn’t have a bad experience, but there were a couple of trends that I saw which concerned me enough to where I don’t see myself taking part in it on a regular basis.

–  The “go, go, go” mentality from Heroics is extremely common in the Raid Finder.  People want to do the fights as quickly as possible, which doesn’t make sense to anyone who has ever done some actual raiding.  Nothing about raiding is fast.  There are the feasts and cauldrons before the pull, discussing the strategies, performing ready checks, running back, mass ressing people, etc.  If you have somewhere to be or you’re itching to get things done in a hurry, raiding is not for you.  I found it interesting that everyone was in a rush to get a kill and then either drop group or move on to the next encounter.  I don’t feel that’s an accurate representation of what real raiding is and it worries me that people are going to see this and think it’s really like that.

–  Healing is sort of a free for all activity.  There aren’t healing assignments.  Nobody asks you what spec you are in (in my case, because I’m a priest), or seems to know what the various healing specs do.  People see that you have healing capabilities and they ask you to do it.  It’s that simple.  There’s no coordination of defensive cooldowns or battle resses.  It’s just balls to the wall.  The one group that I spent the most time in probably would have done better, had we communicated these things to one another.  Because we were too busy healing ALL THE THINGS, we didn’t have that focus or the means to really identify what was going wrong with our performance.  It felt sloppy and dare I say it, random.

–  The loot system is more controversial than ever.  The odds of you actually receiving loot from the Raid Finder are quite slim, in my opinion.  I was even rolling on multiple items that dropped off the same boss, in the hopes that I would win something and I went home with nothing but repair bills.  I think if you’re planning on using the Raid Finder to get your tier bonus faster or to otherwise get ahead with your gear, you’re doing it wrong.  I would not rely on the Raid Finder for loot.  I just wouldn’t.  Combine this with the fact that the system of determining when you can roll seems a bit harsh and the fact that certain top tier guilds are rumored to be exploting the Raid Finder for their own competitive purposes and nobody can seem to agree on just how the loot should be handled.  I would rather stay out of it, all together, and just get my loot the old fashioned way – by saving up my Valor Points, or getting upgrades as drops from the new Heroics or the Dragon Soul.

Which brings me to the Dragon Soul.  Man, it feels good to be in there.  It’s definitely a challenge, at least for my group, and I kind of like that way.  I like that we didn’t clear everything in a day and that we weren’t crestfallen and such because of it.  While it was frustrating to spend most of our night wiping on one boss, it felt terrific when we finally did get it down and to know that we all rose to the occasion and made it happen.  I was quite pleased by our progress and our determination.  For the record, we kept wiping on Zon’ozz – not Morchok.  We’re not total baddies.

I started off our first night in Dragon Soul as holy and closed it out as discipline, due to the tank taking insane amounts of damage during the Zon’ozz encounter and I suggested that my absorbs might be able to help with that.  I’m not going to be so bold as to say that I made that much of a difference, but I would like to think I certainly contributed to our tank surviving a bit better than he did before.  It was neat to hear everyone offering suggestions and trying new things, rather than reading one set strategy and just imitating it.  I didn’t end up as high on the meters on the kill as I would have liked, but I think that’s because that fight really favors raid healing and I was determined not to let the tank die, so I didn’t do as much AOE healing as I could have towards the end.

Some other things I could stand to improve upon:

–  I didn’t use Power Infusion, like at all.  I didn’t even have it on my action bars.  Oh, yes!  Needless to say, I was mortified and have rectified the situation.  Come Sunday, everybody is getting Power Infusion.  Even you.

–  I gained a new appreciation for Inner Focus, as in I love it and want to marry it.  Love it!  The fact that it gives a free heal isn’t even the draw of it.  It’s the fact that it gives our next heal a 25% chance to crit, which means a Greater Heal that’s going to crit on the tank leaves a nice Divine Aegis proc on them, which is just plain fabulous.  Again – not nearly as dilligent about using it on cooldown as I should have been, but I will certainly get better at it.

–  I keep forgetting to raid heal or do some amount of group healing as discipline.  I was good about dropping my Barrier, but I could have popped Divine Hymn to help out, or used Inner Focus for a free Prayer of Healing or two.  Like I said before, I think I was just so determined not to lose our tank, because a number of our wipes were due to the tank dying, that I was scared to leave him without heals.  I’ll be sure to slip in some things to help the raid next time.

–  My Lightwell positioning kind of sucked.  I wasn’t sure where to put it on Zon’ozz and I didn’t even drop it on Morchok.  Looking back, I think it might do the most good during the group up phase on Zon’ozz, especially because the whole room gets really dark and the Lightwell would stand out nicely and help out with the massive amount of damage that goes out.  It could have done a lot more good, had I dropped it at a better time or in a better place.  Noted.

 

Truth be told, I’m enjoying discipline a lot more than I ever thought I would.  I think it’s that I don’t feel like I’m on auto-pilot when I’m healing as discipline and I feel more engaged.  I don’t know what everything does just yet and I’m still piecing together how my talents and spells work.  I have played holy for so long that I don’t even have to think, when it comes time to react to something.  I just do it.  I like to learn and have those “A-ha!’ type moments and they come few and far between, when I’m holy.  It’s all very “been there, done that.”  Don’t get me wrong – the new Divine Hymn is absolutely delicious and Echo of Light seems to be making a huge impact.  But, I would love to have more opportunities to be discipline and to master that side of things, too.

I sort of chomp at the bit to play discipline now.  I’m really lucky that I have a raid leader who trusts me, as a priest, and lets me make those decisions for myself.  I don’t think I have ever been put in a position where I was forced to play one spec over the other, since I’ve been here.  I was asked what I thought about changing specs for a certain fight, but it was never “You must do this or we lose – or you fail.”  That was the main issue with being asked to go discipline back in Firelands, with my last guild.  I wasn’t given a say.  I wasn’t given a choice.  It was “You will do this.”  They didn’t trust me to know enough about my class to know that I didn’t need to do that for the group to succeed .  I wasn’t given the feeling that my opinion mattered.  I was given an ultimatum, which made me less enthused to change specs.  Now that I have the choice and the freedom to decide how I want to play, I’m living it up.  I’m reading up on discipline more and I can’t wait to really get the hang of it.  I’m having a total blast!

This weekend will be spent farming a trinket out of Well of Eternity, possibly gearing up my shaman a bit more, and finally respond to comments on my blog.  I’ll do a bit more preparation and log splicing before the raid on Sunday, but I’m hungry for more action.  Hopefully you all are enjoying this new patch as much as I am, or that you’re on the road to getting there.  Let me know what you think!

34 Responses to “Progress”

  1. Tomaj December 2, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Well, you know me, go troll, go tauren, or go home. 😉 Blood Elf is admittedly kind of OP due to Arcane Torrent, but Berserking is still really good. It stacks with all other haste buffs (Lifeblood, Power Infusion, Serendipity, Bloodlust/Time Warp/Ancient Hysteria). It’s good as a throughput cooldown when you really need it.

    In any case, my thoughts on the new 5-mans keep coming back to “Why is Tyrande Spanish?” and “Why is Baine Thorim?” I know it’s silly, but even so, it is what it is. >.>

    As for LFR, despite the controversy and exploit behind it, there are other things to be made note of regarding the loot system. For certain items (say, healing specific stuff), there’s a bonus to your roll if your role matches what the item is intended for. Say a spirit ring drops – a priest, caster druid, caster shaman or holy paladin will get a bonus to their roll versus people of other specs/classes rolling on it. It helps, but not a whole lot (especially when it comes to the tier pieces – I lost on all four Protector tokens that dropped on my hunter, plus a trinket and another gear upgrade of some form).

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      I couldn’t pin down where Tyrande seemed to be coming from. One minute she’s channeling Penelope Cruz, the next she’s trying out for “Fiddler On The Roof.” Very confusing.

      • Tomaj December 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

        Well, I have a Peruvian guildmate, and the accent is *extremely* similar, so … yeah. >.> It makes me think of her.

        (Also, it may be silly, but, yay for priest upgrades today! Tier shoulders ftw!)

  2. Derevka December 2, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Welcome back to the raiding fold 🙂

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Suit me up, coach. I’m ready to get back into the game!

  3. Somnar December 2, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Those are some excellent points about LFR that I hadn’t considered O. I’m still planning on getting in there this weekend, just to take a look around and see what will be dealing with once we start Dragon Soul.

    And lets not talk about that trinket anymore. I’m still miffed that bear tank rolled need on it and won it. 😉

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the patch with us!

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      Oh, the hair would have come OFF if that happened when I was there. I would have been cuttin’ folk.

  4. Jed December 2, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I am having a good time with this patch so far. The new heroics are a little difficult but not over difficult like the trollroics seemed when they were released. I even ran the LFR yesterday on my mage and we were able to down the bosses and get some people gear, especially a DK who won every single tier token. =( It’s going to be a grind but I am planning on gearing up more of my alts to LFR ilvl so they can run it as well.

    Gear Tranmogrification is awesome and I wish they had added it sooner. I am sadly one of those gear hoarders you mentioned and I was glad to be able to run around on my mage sporting some sexy retro raid gear without actually having to equip said gear.

    Secret Disc Priest confession: whenever I run heroics on my disc priest, I usually forget to PI anyone and it’s even on my bars at least twice. I’m usually focusing more on keeping peoples health up and not as much on things like PI. I do use IF often though because free heals with increased crit chance are very sexy.

    I’m glad that you are enjoying this patch and maybe next time you’re looking for a group to run heroics, maybe we can Real ID group together. 😉

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:50 am #

      I still can’t figure out how to heal a 5 man as discipline. It usually just leads to me yelling “Stop taking damage!” to everyone but the tank. I don’t know how people do it. Maybe lots of Prayer of Healing and Flash Heal? I can keep the tank up just fine – beyond fine, even. It’s everyone else that I really struggle with.

      • Sora December 9, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

        Try running Inner Will and tossing out more bubbles if they’re taking a lot of damage. Usually though incorporating plenty of PoH’s is enough for me, plus PoM on cd.

        • Jem December 12, 2011 at 6:52 am #

          I’m hopeless at PI, I have a macro that puts it on my favourite mage if I remember, but I’m seriously bad. IF is great, every tme I swap to holy it’s like “how on earth do you ppl manage to not go oom without IF”.

          Healing 5mans as disc can be interesting based on the damage patterns. A barrier on the group or the tank while you PoH can help, or PS the tank and PoH the group while the tank is buffered can help. Shield sensibly. PI + PoH is a good combo if you can.

  5. Ratshag December 2, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    “I’m also tempted to save up for the ICC tier set, which I deleted and don’t know why”
    I weeped when I realized I’d done vendored me flaming skull shield from Naxx-25, what I carried all through Wrath. Weeped louder when Blizz refused to restore it, despite me showin’ ’em multiple screenshots of it.

    “We are on our third expansion and people still don’t remember these things. It boggles the mind.” It’ll asplode the mind when some DK pops out Army of the Dudes and the dragon starts spinnin’ like a hamster on crack. Flame breath and tail swipes fer everybodies!

    “I think if you’re planning on using the Raid Finder to get your tier bonus faster or to otherwise get ahead with your gear, you’re doing it wrong.”
    Sounds like solid advice; will keep that in mind. Mostlies interested now in RF fer ta kill Deathwing with me main, ‘stead of sidelining him and killin’ bosses with the alts like I usually do (Yeah, I does it backwards. Is typical me).

    • Oestrus December 2, 2011 at 10:53 am #

      “We are on our third expansion and people still don’t remember these things. It boggles the mind.” It’ll asplode the mind when some DK pops out Army of the Dudes and the dragon starts spinnin’ like a hamster on crack. Flame breath and tail swipes fer everybodies!

      Yes! Only Army of the Dead can make a boss do that. There’s just no way around it.

      “I think if you’re planning on using the Raid Finder to get your tier bonus faster or to otherwise get ahead with your gear, you’re doing it wrong.”
      Sounds like solid advice; will keep that in mind. Mostlies interested now in RF fer ta kill Deathwing with me main, ‘stead of sidelining him and killin’ bosses with the alts like I usually do (Yeah, I does it backwards. Is typical me).

      There are many things you can take away from the Raid Finder, but I don’t think loot is one of them. I know a few people who are doing them, on their mains, solely for that reason. They would not be doing them, otherwise. I think that’s not the best plan. Personally, I went in for the experience. It’s one thing to read a strategy or watch a video about a new boss, but it’s another to really visualize it and physically take part in it. I felt more prepared for my raid last night, because I had seen the first 4 bosses already.

  6. Saltycracker December 2, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    You can spec how you want to. You can leave your friends behind…

    Blizzard seems to have finally gotten the difficulty just right for normals. All the HC guilds roflstomped it for progression into heroics, and it’s still fun and challenging for the middle class raiders, while the asshats can go eat cake. I love love love this system. Now we just need to shed some asshats.

  7. slice December 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    welcome back to the raiding scene!

  8. Juvenate December 3, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I actually made the loot mistake when I first stepped into the raid finder without my guild. I forgot I’m rolling against 24 other people for loot and my chances of success are quite slim. Luckily, I only did 2 bosses. I went back in with my guild (we took up all 25 spots) and I managed to get 2 pieces of loot from the other 2 bosses because people already didn’t need/ or want the gear.

    I think LFR is great for people who aren’t part of a dedicated raid team or don’t have much time to raid. But for people who are just doing it for pure loot purposes? They’ll find much of their time will be wasted.

  9. Cym (@Cymre) December 5, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    I must say that I was looking forward to transmogging my gear esp. my priest who has a bank full of outfits and old raid gear. I am loving the void storage and new Darkmoon Fair that I saw for the first time yesterday. Also heading in to the new raid as a newish formed Guild was great as I’m interested to see how we fare against the other Guilds on the realm.

    I remember how you struggled with the holy vs disc argument in your previous Guild and am happy to see you’ve found one that supports you as a player and not a spec.

  10. wisperhunter December 5, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    Very nice blog :))))

  11. Syrco December 5, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    I agree on the Looking for Raid loot thing, I’ve been there on three characters and haven’t won a single item even tho I rolled on items every run. And by the way, if you didn’t know: You can buy the old PvP sets and weapons from a vendor in Area 52, Netherstorm 🙂

  12. Navimie December 5, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    Great post O. I love your thoughts on the whole expansion and you know what? I like how you are cool with not wiping the whole place out in one night and complaining how easy it was. I LOL’d when you said it wasn’t Mor’chok you wiped on, you’re not a total baddie. You enjoy the game and are relaxed about it 🙂

    That’s great how you’re loving the freedom of your spec choices. But I hate that inner focus noise with a PASSION. Oh and grats on having to be chosen for theBA blog circle of the week 🙂

    • Oestrus December 6, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      Hello Navimie!

      I think the four month break that I took from World of Warcraft really helped. I still sweat certain things, but I don’t sweat *everything* anymore. I would like to think I have gotten better about picking my battles and knowing what’s worth getting upset over and what isn’t.

      I don’t know many people who cleared Dragon Soul in one night that were happy about it. It left people feeling unfulfilled and worried about how they were going to spend that huge chunk of time that’s left before MoP goes into Beta testing. We still have a lot of time to kill. I like that we are getting the most out of the instance and that we are having to “work” to get through it. I’m confident that we will catch up to those who cleared it faster than us and that we will make a pretty good dent in the Heroics. I’ve always looked at the Heroics as the “real” progression. That’s what I’m interested in. As long as we get to that point and perform well at that level, I’ll be happy. Everything else is just preliminaries, to me.

      The Inner Focus sound and the sound of a neutral Chakra state (where the priest hasn’t chosen a Chakra yet). Both of those sounds are maddening.

      Thanks for the congratulations and the lovely comment. I really appreciate it!

  13. Karegina December 6, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I have yet to step foot into LFR but I have done the first 3 bosses in 10 man. However, we weren’t able to get the pong boss down because we aren’t 3 healing. But ARGH! I don’t WANT to ‘have’ to go into LFR. Makes my stomach clench just thinking about it!

    • Oestrus December 6, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      Hi Karegina,

      You don’t have to! I’ve done it once and I don’t have any plans to do it repeatedly. My main reason for going was to “see” the bosses before my raid group actually attempted them. It’s one thing to read a strategy, beforehand or watch a video, but sometimes it’s better to actually experience what you’re learning about. I felt more prepared for our first night in DS because of the LFR than I think I would have without it. That’s what I take away from it.

      I would like to think you could be just as successful as anyone else right now, without having to “farm” LFR. Don’t sweat it.

  14. Draccus December 6, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    All this talk of raiding is making me want to activate my main account sooner and get my Ret/Prot Paladin up and running again to be raid viable as both a melee dps & tankadin. On that note, I am also considering moving him to another server or guild to run with people from the blogging community. I love Kael’thas-US server and have server characters still there, including my beloved Druid, but Kitron is looking for a new home come January.

    Sounds like LFR is going to have to overcome the LFG issues that Heroics brought with them. A possible solution to this problem is running with RealD Friends List or setting the tone for the runs we do ahead of time, in order to minimize the “Go-Go Dancing Facepullers”.

    Great post on the 4.3 changes. Looking forward to getting back into the Green Swirly soon. Will have to take your experience and suggestions to heart. Thanks.

    • Oestrus December 6, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

      Hi Draccus,

      The great thing about LFR is that different people can get different things out of it or they have different expectations for it. Some people are using it as their sole source of seeing raid content. Others are using it as an opportunity to prepare for the actual fights with their real raiding groups. It can be all of those things. I’m pretty mellow when it comes to running Randoms, anyway, so most of the behavior that would drive other people up the wall runs right off of me. I agree with you that taking some people you know can make it a more enjoyable experience, but it’s not necessary.

      If you find yourself still looking for a guild come January, be sure to reach out to the folks that you have been meeting through Blog Azeroth or keep an eye on your Twitter feed. It’s a good idea to put it out there that you’re looking and see who you Follow or who Follows you that takes the bait. Heck, you could even write a post about your intent to find a guild on your blog and see what comes from that. The opportunities are endless!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      🙂

  15. Veroicone December 6, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Pretty much agree with a lot of what you say! I never really hoarded any of my main toons gear, although I did have a few which I saved on accident. Which worked out since I wanted to use it for transmog anyways haha.

    I have done LFR once so far and I actually won something in a 25man raid, I got lucky! Was a tier piece too 🙂 I’d like to do it again but with more guidies/friends. I only went with one other friend and we only took down two bosses.

  16. Pocketninja December 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    I am personally loving 4.3 so far and Dragon Soul is a nice step away from Firelands. I would agree with your assessment of getting loot from LFR, but I would like to point out that your probability of getting gear is equal to everyone else in your role. I had a DK in my raid last night complaining about a zero chance at loot, but 1/25 at max is still an infinitely better chance than not trying at all. That being said, if you don’t raid otherwise, LFR is still a good gearing option as some is better than none. I foresee your chance at gear increasing as time passes and people start doing it just for their valor point.

    Great post by the way!

  17. Saga December 7, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I’m quite enjoying myself in the new patch, though I’ve admittedly not tried LFR yet. I will though. Eventually. For now I’ve stuck to the regular raiding, but I think LFR might be nice for getting a few extra pieces, or if nothing else I may want to try it on an alt.

    The moving of the dragon in End Time drives me nuts! I can’t even count the number of times the tank suddenly pulls it away for some odd reason (I usually check, and there’s no void zone where he’s tanking), and I get smacked in the face with the tail. Or they think it’s a good idea to have the dragon face the hour glass.

    Ironically the fight that has been the most “difficult” when in a random group though so far has been the Echo of Baine. I don’t know if I’m just unlucky, but I always seem to end up in a group where no one thinks to pick up the totem and toss it back. I see the totem over on the other platform just lying there with two people standing next to it. Sometimes I get so annoyed I’ll go over there myself. I noticed as well that unless they have really good dps, if there’s not a single totem toss he will take so long to kill you will end up with not a single platform left! 😉

  18. Ceraphus December 7, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    While I agree with you about the go-go-go mentality distorts what raiding is about, I disagree with you on the loot system, I actually really like it, and wish they would have put into the new 5 mans, as I was tanking them and a good 2h tanking weapon dropped for my DK, and I lost the roll because some Fury warrior said he wanted to use it on his arms set…mind boggled.

  19. red cow December 7, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I had the same reaction in Well of Eternity regarding Azshara. Her voice didn’t seem appropriate for her, but maybe when we finally get her in a proper raid boss fight (Fingers crossed!) she will have morphed into the character I was expecting.

    It’s interesting reading about people’s experiences in LFR because I haven’t had the chance to try it out yet. If not for the atmosphere and not for the loot, will I run it for…idk, the points? Hmmm.

  20. claraa December 7, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    First off I was ultra disappointed by the Azshara fight. It wasn’t hard but it’s really disappointing you don’t fight her at all. At least allow us to get her down to 10% and make her run away or something like that… I also despise that fight because I was kicked from a group because we were wiping to her. I did 15k absorbs and healing as Disc and the dps was sub 7k and they said they wanted MOAR heals. We had 4 mages up at once…. T.T

    Second off I want to hear your thoughts about this trinket from the Well of Eternity. I currently have Jaws of Defeat (macro’d to Power Infusion) and Eye of Blazing Power so I don’t absolutely need it but the uptime (I read something like 30-40%) and animation are spectacular. I have the trinket on an alt shadow priest but I don’t heal on her…much…yet. Do you think the Foul Gift of the Demon Lord is better than my current trinkets?

  21. Aidrana December 9, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    I did the same thing for my transmogged outfit! I just used whatever was lying around 😉 Could it be possible that we’re just… lazy? 🙂

  22. Erinys December 10, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    Haven’t raided as a Bloodelf Priest since the start of Cataclysm but I know Arcane Torrent was returning more mana over the course of a raid night than Replenishment was (that was the only reason I went Belf).

  23. AmerPriest December 18, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    bah! i missed this post so sorry, but anyway, I read every single word of it. thank you for sharing all your thoughts on the new patch, I was excited with all the features that was offered but the transmogrification was the one I was really loved, the raiding was like a package to me since I moved to different server. but i tell you now I didn’t went and raid LFR until 2days ago after we already cleared Dragon Soul in 25 man normal. but since I still needed a few upgrades its one of the options to go to. But anyway, great post O! =) and Welcome back to raiding again, glad you also have fun playing Disc now. Good Luck hon! ❤

Leave a Reply

